Ambode Inaugurates Lagos State Research And Innovation Council

Governor Ambode today inaugurates Lagos State Research and Innovation Council which is to be chaired by Deputy Vice Chancellor of University of Lagos, Prof Oluwatoyin Ogundipe.The Research and Innovation  Council is aimed at promoting scientific research in Lagos while developing a knowledge driven community.

In his address the state Governor urged members of the Council to bring their wealth of experience to bear on the efforts of the State Government to harness the full potentials of scientific research in developing solutions to challenges facing the State.

While noting that there was hardly any area of human endeavour that had not been positively affected by science in the 21st century, Governor Ambode said application of scientific innovation remained the key to achieving efficiency, effectiveness and accelerated development in a knowledge – driven economy.

The terms of reference of the Council among others are to manage the science research and innovation Fund which would be applied towards funding research that have the potentials to directly benefit the citizenry in terms of job and wealth creation.

The Council will also be responsible for promoting research and innovation activities in public and private institutions and identify all research and innovation products that are bankable and translate such to commercial activities with a view to establishing small and medium scale industries, as well as promote science education by organising various scientific activities that will encourage the teaching and learning of science subjects in all public schools in the State.


Other members of the Council are Adenike Fajemirokun, Akeem Adeniji-Adele, Oladokun Oye, Dr Frank Ojadi, Prof Martins Aneiekhai and Mr Sikiru Adegoke. Others representing Lagos State in the Council are Commissioner for Energy and Mineral Resources, Mr Olawale Oluwo; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Science and Technology, Mrs Olufunmilayo Balogun and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Mr Adesina Odeyemi.




Leave a Reply