Home The Politico 2015: Oyo APC Conducts Peaceful Primary Elections for House of Assembly Aspirants

2015: Oyo APC Conducts Peaceful Primary Elections for House of Assembly Aspirants


By Adeola Oladele, Ibadan

The Oyo State All Progressives Congress (APC) Wednesday conducted primary elections for its aspirants who are seeking re-election or fresh aspirants to the state House of Assembly in the forthcoming 2015 general election.

WESTERN POST monitored the primaries at some local governments within Ibadan metropolis and observed that in those places visited, the elections were held peacefully.

Some of the local governments visited were Lagelu, Ibadan North-West, Akinyele, Oluyole, Egbeda and Ibadan South-East.

From Lagelu Local Government, the Caretaker Chairman, Prince Olafisoye Akinmoyede emerged the flagbearer of the party for the election into the Lagelu State Constituency seat.

While speaking with WESTERN POST, a party chieftain in the local government, Chief Kunle Sanda, commended the delegates for being faithful to the party, urging them to continue in the drive to sustain the party’s legacies.

In his appreciation, the council boss, Prince Akinmoyede thanked the delegates for their support, promising not to betray the trust reposed in him by the party faithfuls if he finally emerges in the general election.

At the Ibadan North-West Local Government, the incumbent member of the state House of Assembly, Hon. Hakeem Oladipupo, won the primary election to re-contest for the same seat.

While speaking with WESTERN POST, Hon. Oladipupo assured members of the APC of more democratic dividends if finally elected in the 2015 general election.

Similarly in Akinyele Local Government, the primary elections were held peacefully within the two constituencies of the local government.

The election into the state House of Assembly in the local government was contested by 14 aspirants in both constituencies.

In constituency 1, Mr. Moroof Akinlabi won the primary election by 58 votes, while Mr. Bolaji Badmus from constituency 11 had 31 votes to emerge winner.

Ditto in Oluyole Local Government, the Majority Leader in the state House of Assembly, Hon. Oyeniyi Oyeniran, emerged winner in the primary election to recontest in the forthcoming election with a total of 138 votes to defeat other 4 aspirants.

In an interview, Hon. Oyeniran expressed happiness at the outcome of the primary and dedicated his victory to all APC members in the local government.

However, at the Egbeda Local Government, Mr. Ogundokun Olamide emerged a candidate to contest for the House of Assembly seat in the state, representing Egbeda State Constituency after polling 133 votes to defeat six other aspirants jostling for the same seat.

The primary was held at the former SDP Secretariat, Sawmill, Ibadan. The exercise, which commenced with the accreditation of delegates, was thereafter preceded by the voting proper.

The election was conducted under the watchful eyes of security agents.

The APC Chairman in the local government, Elder Olu Opawale, who spoke with WESTERN POST, stated that the peaceful conduct of the election showed that APC continued to set the pace for other political parties.

While showing his appreciation, Mr. Olamide reaffirmed his commitment to embark on helping to formulate more laws that will help the people if he finally got elected in the 2015 general election.

According to him, youth empowerment, care for the aged and other less privileged in his constituency would be his target, adding that he would not let them down in the confidence reposed in him to represent them in the state House of Assembly.

Meanwhile, other winners in the primary elections held across the state are:

  1. AFIJIO- Leke Oyatokun

2.Atiba- Ganiyu Waliu

  1. Ibadan North 1- Bolanle Agbaje
  2. Ibadan North 2- Olusegun Olaleye
  3. IB N/E 1- Barr. Kola Raji
  4. IB N/E 2- Idowu Olanipekun
  5. IB N/W- Akin Oladipupo
  6. IB S/E 1- Ibrahim Omiyale
  7. IB S/E 2- Okiki Adebolu
  8. IB S/W 1- Subair Kehinde
  9. IB S/W 2- Segun Ajanaku
  10. Ibarapa C/N-Jimoh Akingbade
  11. IbarapaEast- Akinyode Mark
  12. Ido- Safiu Olalere
  13. Irepo/Olorunsogo-Ganiyu Ayesoro
  14. Iseyin/Itesiwaju- Afeez Adeleke
  15. Iwajowa- Okunlola Adelere
  16. Kajola- John Olalere
  17. Ogbomoso S- Adediran Alao
  18. Ogo Oluwa/Surulere- Aresa Nurudeen
  19. Ona- Ara- Saheed Olanrewaju
  20. Oorelope- Yisau Azeez Adesope
  21. Oriire- Yekeen
  22. Oyo East/West- Mudasiru Bolanle
  23. Saki West- Barr. Musa Wasiu.

Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here