Home News 3 INEC Commissioners, 11 RECs for Kogi Poll

3 INEC Commissioners, 11 RECs for Kogi Poll


Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Mahmood Yakubu, on Tuesday, said the commission would deploy three National Commissioners and 11 Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the conduct of the governorship election in Kogi State.

Apart from this, Inspector General of Police, Solomon Arase, also assured the electorate in the state not to entertain any fear over the election, saying the force was ready for the protection of their lives and properties.

The INEC boss and the IGP spoke at a governorship election stakeholders forum held at Lokoja, the state capital.

Yakubu, who said the officials would be deployed to monitor the conduct of the November 21 election in the state, explained that the deployment was in line with the commission’s resolve to ensure free, fair and credible election in the state.

According to him, each of the national commissioners would be in each of the three senatorial districts, while the RECs would be in charge at the local government level.

The INEC chairman said the commission was determined to make success of the Kogi poll being the first to be conducted under his leadership, stressing that all necessary arrangements had been put in place to ensure conduct of free, fair and credible poll.

Professor Yakubu noted that the Professor Attahiru Jega led INEC had raised the bar of the electoral process in the country and that Nigerians were anxiously waiting for an improvement in the process.

He said all the non-sensitive materials for the election had been deployed and the sensitive materials were already with the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), saying these would be deployed on the eve of election in the presence of all stakeholders.

While assuring of INEC’s neutrality as an electoral umpire in the conduct of the forthcoming election, Mahmood said: “Only people of Kogi can choose who their governor will be and nobody else.

Our duty is to deliver free, fair and credible election.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here