Home The Politico 5 Ondo PDP Lawmakers Defect to APC

5 Ondo PDP Lawmakers Defect to APC


By: Temitope Adedeji, Akure

The wave of defection blowing across the Ondo State House of Assembly continued today as five more members of the House dumped the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The five PDP lawmakers are the immediate past Deputy Speaker, Hon. Fatai Olotu (Akoko North East), Hon. Akinyele Fasogbon (Odigbo 2), Hon. Kuti Towase (Akoko South East), Hon. Bimbo Fajolu (Ileoluji/Okeigbo) and Hon. Tuyi Akintimehin (Idanre).

With the defection of the five lawmakers, the APC now has 18 members while PDP has been been reduced to eight members, which gives the ruling party the two-third majority needed to make any decision in the House of Assembly.

The defecting lawmakers and their supporters were received into the APC by Governor Rotimi Akeredolu at a colourful ceremony held at the International Event Centre, The Dome, in Akure.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here