Home Features Abuja Environmental Protection Board Team Visits LAWMA

Abuja Environmental Protection Board Team Visits LAWMA


In order to set in motion, a sustainable waste management system in the nation’s capital, Abuja, a delegation from the Abuja Environmental Protection Board, AEPB, on Tuesday, paid a visit to the Lagos State Waste Management Agency, LAWMA.

Welcoming the team led by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Capital Territory, Mr. Olusade Adesola, the MD/CEO of LAMWA, Mr. Ibrahim Odumboni said he was delighted to have the delegation and excited to share the journey of LAWMA with them.

Mr. Odumboni in a detailed presentation, started from how LAWMA was created, the purpose it was created to fulfil, the many deciding curves it has faced and how the agency has navigated its way to becoming a force to be reckoned with both from within and outside the country, as an authority in the waste management sector.

Immediately after the presentation, Mr. Odumboni engaged in a discussion with members of the visiting team, responding to all of their questions.

And just like the management of LAWMA had done for some other states within the country, Mr. Odumboni assured the team of his willingness to go a step further by sending representatives to FCT, who would help to set sustainable structures in place and train other staff on how to go about the job in line with international standard.

Mr. Olusade Adesola, thanked the MD/CEO for the thorough and in-depth presentation and his willingness not only to share his knowledge, but also the agency’s manpower with them.

He noted that the waste management structure in the FCT is currently battling with some long standing difficulties that he hope this visit will help to resolve.

The delegation, as part of their visit, were taken on a tour around LAWMA facilities.

Other members of the team from AEPB included Dr. Baba Gana Adam, Director, Department of Outdoor Advertisement and Signage, Mr. Alaya Nurudeen, Director, Communications, AEPB. Mr. Galatians Fenn D. Assistant Director, FCT Waterboard, amongst others.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here