Home News Oladigbolu Defeats Olubowale With 51 Votes To Emerge Pharmacists’ Leader

Oladigbolu Defeats Olubowale With 51 Votes To Emerge Pharmacists’ Leader


By Kolawole Olayinka, Abeokuta

It was a colourful moment in Abeokuta, Ogun State on Saturday as Adewale Oladigbolu from Port Harcourt was officially announced as the 15th national chairman of the Association of Community Pharmacists of Nigeria (ACPN).


He will be leading the association for the next three years.

The election of ACPN executives was part of activities and celebration of its  40th anniversary held in Ogun State.

Mr. Oladigbolu polled 296 votes to defeat his opposition, Mr. Olubowale from the Lagos chapter, who got 245 votes, a difference of 51 votes.


The election was peacefully conducted, compared to the last one held in Benni City in 2018.

Former governor of Ogun State, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, who chaired the closing ceremony acknowledged the past chairman’s contribution.

Otunba Daniel challenged pharmacists to emulate their counterparts elsewhere by being innovative.

“Pharmacists should come together and give Nigeria our own Covid-19 local vaccine as it has been practised in Kenya, Senegal and other African countries,” he said.

In his acceptance speech, Oladigbolu who is a native of Oyo State but based in Port Harcourt, appreciated all his colleagues for considering him worthy to lead them.

He thanked the people of Rivers State for being his landlord for 25 years.

He promised to actualise all his electioneering promises adhere to the ethics of the profession, stressing that the welfare of his professional colleagues would be paramount.




Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here