Home 2019-Elections Adeyemi, Isah, Oseni Win APC Senatorial Ticket 

Adeyemi, Isah, Oseni Win APC Senatorial Ticket 

By Wale Ibrahim, Lokoja

Senator Smart Adeyemi has emerged as  Senatorial Candidate of  All Progressive Congress (APC) for Kogi West Senatorial District for the 2019 general elections.

Senator Smart Adeyemi

In Keenly contested primary  election ,Senator Smart Adeyemi scored a total of 1659 votes  to beat others,  Toyin Akanle 104, Bisimillahi Tajudeen 98 and Mrs Ibikunle Adesoyin who pulled 19 votes.

The  primary election was conducted in peaceful atmosphere, credible, free and fair primary election which held  was conducted at Olonijola event centre, Kabba, headquarters of the senatorial district.

The exercise was supervised  by INEC and security personnel lasted from 11:30 pm Wednesday night to 6:30 Thursday morning.

The returning officer, Mr. Bonnie Eneh said 1900 delegates were accredited, while 1893 delegates voted; declared Adeyemi winner of the exercse haven won the highest votes.

However, at the commencement of the exercise around 11:30 pm Wednesday, one of the aspirant, Dr. Toyin Akanle called for the postponement of the exercise to the following day on the ground that it was already late.

He hinged his submission on the fact that some of the delegates are already tired and some had left to sleep.

But his request was turned down by the presiding officer, who said the delegates were present and there is no need to postpone an election that is already a day behind schedule.

Other aspirants along with the delegates agreed with the presiding officer’s decision and called for the commencement of the primary.

Akanle, bittered by the decision, staged a walk out but left behind his agent.

In a related development, Alhaji  Jubrin  Isah (Echocho) has been declared the winner of APC Kogi East primary election.

Isah scored  2, 469 votes to defeat his arch rival Yahaya Oyidi Audu who Polled 308 votes.

In Kogi Central  Senatorial district , Alhaji Yqkubu Oseni has been declared the winner of the Primary election that and became APC flag bearer in 2019 general elections.

Oseni  scored a total of 1,100 votes , Senator Abatemi 160 , Dalhatu Sheriff  371,Kabiru Ajanah 32, Yusuf Haruna 12.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here