Home Newsfeed Akeem Balogun Emerges Ogun Assembly Deputy Speaker

Akeem Balogun Emerges Ogun Assembly Deputy Speaker


By Kolawole Olayinka, Abeokuta

Ogun State House of Assembly has elected a member representing Ogun Waterside State Constituency, Honourable Balogun Akeem, as the new Deputy Speaker.

This followed last week removal of his predecessor and member representing Ijebu-North II State Constituency, Dare Kadiri for gross misconduct.

The election was sequel to his nomination by a member representing Remo North State Constituency, Hon. (Barr.) Solomon Osho, seconded by his Ijebu-North East counterpart, Abayomi Fasuwa and was unanimously supported by other lawmakers at a plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Olakunle Oluomo at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

Earlier before conducting the nomination exercise, the Clerk and Head of Legislative Service, Mr. Deji Adeyemo, presented a report on the vacancy in the office of the Deputy Speaker, after which the voting process was concluded upon the acceptance of the nomination by Balogun, who thereafter took the Oaths of Office and that of Allegiance respectively as administered on him by the Clerk.

The report presented by the Clerk reads, “kindly permit me to recall one of the major events of the Plenary session of the House held on Thursday which culminated in the impeachment of the former Deputy Speaker of the House from Office. That exercise has created a vacuum in the Office of the Deputy Speaker of the House and the notice of this vacancy is hereby communicated to the Plenary for necessary action as contained in the extant provision of the Standing Order of the House”.

In another development, the Assembly has confirmed the nomination of Governor Dapo Abiodun’s nominee, Mrs. Remilekun Olaopa as a member of the State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC) having screened and found her eligible and suitable for the position.

The confirmation was sequel to the adoption of the report of the Selection Committee as presented by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff, who also moved the motion for its adoption which was seconded by Hon. Ajayi Bolanle and supported by other lawmakers.

It would be recalled that the lawmakers had during the screening conducted on her the previous day, considered the curriculum vitae of the nominee, with a charge on her to work with other members of the Commission towards ensuring the conduct of a peaceful, free and fair local government election in the State upon confirmation by the legislature and subsequent approval by the State Governor.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here