Home News All Set for December 12 Afe Babalola Day

All Set for December 12 Afe Babalola Day


The choice of December 12 for the annual Distinguished Men and Women of the Year award ceremony is dedicated to Aare Afe Babalola because it marks a watershed in my life, Chief Ogunniyi Morakinyo, Chief Executive Officer, Kayegbo Communications, has said.

”It is the day I was fortunate to have encountered the living legend and he turned my life around and this day has been set aside annually to honour him at the university venue,” he said.

He called on those who are beneficiaries of the large heart of Aare Afe Babalola to join him in honouring the ABUAD founder every year.

According to him, “work is already going on Afe Babalola Hall of Fame that will be in my House of History, Arts and Culture at Kayegbo Estate, Ita-Balogun Street, Okemesi-Ekiti. The hall of fame will contain the names of all recipients of our awards”.

He said the idea of honouring distinguished men and women annually started in 1999 by Kayegbo Organization now Kayegbo Communications, a registered outfit. The aim of this annual event is to recognize outstanding people in various strata of the society, encourage them to do more and spur others to emulate them.

Till date those who have been so honoured by our organization include our life Patron, Aare Afe Babalola, Otunba Niyi Adebayo and Chief Segun Oni, former governors of Ekiti State, Chief S.K. Babalola, Navy Capt. Caleb Olubolade, former Police Affairs Minister, Prof. Modupe Adelabu, former deputy governor, Bishop Felix Ajakaye, Yeye Aare Modupe Afe Babalola and Chief Imam of Ekiti State, Alhaji Jamiu Kewulere.

Obas and Oloris honoured include Oba (Justice) Ademola Ajakaiye, the Oluyin of Iyin-Ekiti, Oba Noah Adejuwon Omonigbehin, the Olomuo of Omuo, Eyesorun Bosede Adejugbe and Olori Apalufin of Aisegba among others.

Recipients of the awards this year have been carefully chosen, he said, adding that the group had carefully considered their antecedents, activities and conduct in the society.

This year’s awardees include Governor Seriake Dickson, Vice Chancellor of Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba, Prof. Femi Mimiko; Owa Ajero, Oba Adebayo Adewole; elder statesman, Chief Deji Fasuan, and Chief Alex Olu Ajayi, the Odoba of Ado-Ekiti.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here