Home News Amosun Wins in Ogun, Defeats Osoba’s, Daniel’s Candidates

Amosun Wins in Ogun, Defeats Osoba’s, Daniel’s Candidates


Governor Ibikunle Amosun has been declared winner of Ogun State governorship election.

It was a clear victory for Amosun whose main opponents were powered by two immediate-past governors of the state, Chief Olusegun Osoba and Otunba Gbenga Daniel. who backed the SDP and PDP candidates respectively.

Declaring the results on Sunday, the state’s Collation and Returning Officer, Prof. Duro Oni, who is the Deputy Vice Chancellor, University of Lagos, said Amosun polled the highest number of votes in the governorship election in the state.

Amosun who ran on the platform of the All Progressives Congress polled a total of 306, 988 votes, while Gboyega Isiaka of the Peoples Democratic Party scored 201, 440.

The governor won in 11 local government areas, while his PDP challenger won in nine LGAs.

Senator Akin Odunsi of the Social Democratic Party, the party formed by Chief Olusegun Osoba, former governor of the state and erstwhile leader of APC in the state who became estranged with Amosun, polled 25, 826 votes while Prince Rotimi Paseda of the Unity Party of Nigeria got 10, 923 votes.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here