Home News ANA Re-Elects Camillus Ukah For Second Term

ANA Re-Elects Camillus Ukah For Second Term


The Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) has re-elected Camillus Ukah as president for year 2021-2023, after the Annual Business Meeting of the association held on the 6th of November, at the Mamman Vatsa Writers Village in Abuja.

A statement jointly signed by the duo of ANA PRO North, Yogiza Umar Jr. and PRO South, Isaiah Ebhodaghe said Ukah, Farida Muhammed, Maik Ortserga, Freeman Okosun, Chimankpa Ogbueri, Mathew Taiwo, Umar Yogiza Jr, Bentex Torlafia and Odono Mathew retained their positions as President, Vice President, General Secretary, Financial Secretary, Auditor, PRO North, Legal Adviser and Ex-Officio 1 respectively of the association.

However, the positions of National Treasurer, PRO South and ex-officio were contested.

The election produced Isaiah Ebhodaghe as National PRO South, Lois Otse Adams as National Treasurer, Wole Adedoyin and Greg Mbarjiorgu as ex-officio members.

Ukah, who emerged through consensus arrangement was returned with majority of his 15 members’ EXCO unopposed.

While Addressing members and the newly elected NEC after the election, Prof. Idris Amali, Chairman of the election Planning Committee urged them not to be distracted by the antics of some miscreants who tried to scuttled the convention, noting that the consensus arrangement showed ANA was very united.

Speaking after his re-election, Ukah thanked members, Board of Trustees, Advisory Council and ANA Elders for the role they played towards ensuring peace and unity in the association.

He also assured that his leadership would provide a level playing field for all members to participate actively for the general good of the association.

Also on Saturday at the Awards Night ANA announced winners of its literary prizes:

  • Joint Winner ANA Poetry Prize 2021 – Kehinde Akano and Stephen Kekeghe

1st Runner Up – Servio Gbadamosi & Nwachukwu Egbunike

2nd Runner Up- Onyebuchi Nwosu & Regina Achie- Nege

Winner ANA Drama Prrize 2021- Chetachi Igbokwe

1st Runner Up – Peter Omoko

2nd Runner Up – Kehinde Akano

Winner ANA Children’s Literature Prize 2021- Jide Ogunlana

1st Runner Up- Chua Anikwata

2nd Runner Up- Yemi Ajagbe

Winner ANA Prose Prize 2021 – Onyeka Nwelue

Winner Chinua Achebe Prize for Literature 2021- Obinna Udenwe



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here