Arapaja Defeats Oyinlola, Emerges PDP Deputy National Chairman


    By Richard Thomas, Ibadan

    There was wild jubilation at the Eagle Square venue of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Convention as former Deputy Governor in  Oyo State, Taofeek Arapaja, emerged winner of the election into the office of the Deputy national chairman (South) of the party.

    Arapaja, an ally of Governor Seyi Makinde, garnered 2,004 votes to defeat his only opponent, Olagunsoye Oyinlola, a former governor of Osun State, who polled 705 votes.

    A total of 165 votes were declared invalid.

    The result of the election was announced by the electoral officers at 3:32 am after about two hours of sorting and counting. Oyinlola had been tipped to win the keenly contested election. He was the party’s national secretary.

    Arapaja enjoyed the support of Makinde, who is the secretary of the convention planning committee.

    Arapaja is currently the national vice-chairman (Southwest) of the PDP.

    He was elected into that office after he defeated the former occupant of the position, Eddy Olafeso, with 343 votes to 330.

    Olafeso was eyeing the position of the national publicity secretary at the ongoing convention but was disqualified by the screening committee last week on the ground that he instituted a case against the party.



    Like and Share this:


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here