Home Political Notes As APC Gains Majority, Sun Sets on Mark’s Senate Presidency

As APC Gains Majority, Sun Sets on Mark’s Senate Presidency


As results of Saturday’s National Assembly elections across the country sink in, the opposition All Progressives Congress has taken a clear lead in the Senate. The party has won 64 seats so far to People’s Democratic Party’s 45. The results of the National Assembly polls have been lost in the tension of the delayed results of the presidential election and the euphoria that eventually greeted General Muhammadu Buhari’s emergence. With APC’s victory, the chances of PDP’s Senator David Mark, the President of the Senate, to retain the coveted position for a record fourth session seems very dicey. Mark himself fought through the skin of his teeth to scale through to the Senate from Benue State. Mark has been Senate President since 2007. Some of the big casualties in the Senatorial election included Niger State Governor Babangida Aliyu, his Benue and Bauchi states counterparts, Gabriel Suswam and Isa Yuguda, former NUJ President, Senator Smart Adeyemi, as well as Senators Ayo Adeseun, Olufemi Lanlehin and Hosea Agboola from Oyo State.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here