Home News State By State Awolowo, Ajimobi, Oyinlola, Agbaje-Williams, Elizade, Faleti Others Honoured at IMEGA Awards

Awolowo, Ajimobi, Oyinlola, Agbaje-Williams, Elizade, Faleti Others Honoured at IMEGA Awards


The Patriarch of Awolowo’s family, late Chief Obafemi Awolowo, Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State, former Governor of Osun State, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Chairman, Elizade Toyota Nigeria Plc, Chief Micheal Ade-Ojo and First Female Broadcaster in Africa, Chief Mrs. Anike Agbaje-Williams were among prominent Nigerians honoured at the weekend at the maiden edition of Ibadan Mesiogo Golf Open Award (IMEGA).

The event tagged IMEGA Award 2017 held at the International Conference Centre, Ibadan was also used to honour former governor of the Western State, General David Jembewon (rtd), BOVAS Group Chairman, Architect Bamidele Samson, the multiple Paralympics Gold medalist in Weight Lifting, Yakubu Adesokan MON, and the Commader of Operation Burst while former governor of the Western Region, Late Adekunle Fajuyi, literary and Cultural Icon icon, Late Adebayo Faleti and the former Otun Olubadan of Ibadanland, Late Chief Omowale Kuye were also given post humous awards.

In his address at the occasion, Governor Abiola Ajimobi assured that the state government would not relent in its efforts to sustain the ongoing developmental projects as well as making life meaningful for the people of the state.

The Governor, who was represented by the state Commissioner for Information, Culture and Tourism, Mr. Toye Arulogun, stressed that sustenance of peace is a top priority of the government, adding “We are not going to sacrifice the peace we have achieved in the last six years for anything. Our resolve to make security as the bedrock of our Restoration, Transformation and Repositioning agenda has not changed and we will continue to embark on developmental projects that will improve the quality and make life meaningful for our people.”

Governor Ajimobi saluted the passion and the spirit of patriotism of Mr Wale Opayinka , the moving spirit behind the Ibadan Mesiogo Golf Championship, promising to support patriotic indigenes of Oyo State with such brilliant ideas  that will showcase the potentials and promote the Pace Setter State.

The curator of the championship and C.E.O, 3E Actuaries, Mr. Olawale Opayinka, said the awardees were honoured for their outstanding achievements in different fields and life endeavours, noting that they are being celebrated for their contributions to the society and the well-being of the people.

He thanked the Oyo State Government for providing the enabling environment for the people, increasing road infrastructure, improved security, saying that without the major achievements of the present administration, it would have been meaningless having the IMEGA week in Ibadan.

He asserted that the game of Golf is one of the tools government could tap into to restore Ibadan as an economic hub, noting that the game attracts decision makers, Chief Executives of multinational organizations, high net worth individuals and local investors across the world.

Among the awards presented were the Life time Achievement Award for the late sage, Chief Obafemi Awolowo; Special Awards was given to Senator Abiola Ajimobi and Gen. David Jembewon (rtd), Heritage Award was given to late Alagba Faleti; Inspiration Award to Arch  and Mrs. Bamidele Samson, founders of Bovas Group and Legacy Award to Chief Micheal Ade-Ojo.

Other awards were Heroes Awards given to Chief Olawale Kuye, Operation Burst, late Col. Adekunle Fajuyi, Chief Mrs. Anike Agbaje Williams and Yakubu Adesokan, while Special Recognition Awards was given to former Governor of Osun State, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola and the IBB Golf Course won the Best Golf Course Award.

A long list of professional golfers, both local and international, such as Craig Hinton, Leigh Whitakker, Gift Willy, Liliana Alvarez, Emos Koblah, among others were in Ibadan for the maiden edition of the Ibadan Mesiogo Open.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here