Monday, July 4, 2022
Home Court & Crime Bello Pardons 48 Convicts in Kogi

Bello Pardons 48 Convicts in Kogi


By Olawale Ibrahim , Lokoja

Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello has on Tuesday invoked exercise of his prerogative of mercy to pardon  48 convicts from the custodian centres.

Bello in his state broadcast to mark the 59th Independence Anniversary stated that it would be recalled that on 27th January 2017 and 1st October 2018, 17 and five convicts of various categories respectively were recommended for pardon and commutation of sentence by the state advisory council of the prerogative of mercy.

He approved the said recommendations; which has been implemented.

According to the statement, “Once again, the Kogi State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy acting in consonance with the provisions of the 1999 Constitution (as amended) and Kogi State Advisory Council on Prerogative of Mercy Law, 1995, visited several Custodial Centres in some states of the Federation where condemned convicts and other categories of convicts are being kept.

“A careful scrutiny of the applications of the convicts, supporting documents and testimonies given by the Officials in Charge of the various Custodial Centres were to the effect that some of the convicts deserve another chance in life, hence the recommendations made by the said Council.

“The Executive Governor of Kogi State, under and by virtue of the powers conferred on me by section 212 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended) do hereby  this 1st day of October, 2019 render and pronounce in exercise of the said powers declare as follows:- “That the under listed convicts serving sentences in Custodial centres located in Kogi State and who have less than 1 year to be discharged are hereby granted pardon and should be released .

“They are Shaibu Zakari, James Sheidu,Muhammed Yahaya, Sunday Adeyemi,Ugbede John, Ojonugwa Mathew, Abdulmumuni Yakubu, Muhammed Haruna, Daniel Ochonu, Abdulrahman

“While others serving various jail terms have sentence terms reduced and those on the death row had sentence commuted to life imprisonment.

“In this category are Haruna Usman , Kashim Abdullahi, Ejimoh Hassan Iregwu, Ajoze Iregwu, Shafiu Ibrahim Faari, Razaq Olarenwaju, James Adegwu, Peter Illiya Azabada ,Aminu Dio, Victor Ayegba Abu, Ganiyu Yakubu, Rasheed Ayinde, Akeem Abiodun, James Afolabi, Sule Adehi, Yakubu Ali,Jegede Adama ,Abubakar Haruna, Audu Mustapha, Sa’adatu Sani, Oladele Benjamin, Tahiru Yusuf, Abdulrahman Amoto Sambit and Rasheed Kareem.

“That the following condemned convicts who are in various Custodial Centres across the country hereby have their death sentences commuted to life,” the governor stressed.



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here