Home The Politico Blow-By-Blow Account of Lagos APC Guber Primaries

Blow-By-Blow Account of Lagos APC Guber Primaries

  • 13 aspirants in race

By Samuel Ogundipe

The gubernatorial primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is now underway at Onikan Stadium in downtown Lagos.

The event, which is coordinated by a former Deputy Governor of Edo State, Peter Obadan, is expected to produce the APC’s flag bearer in the coming governorship elections in the state.

After welcoming delegates and observers to the event, the chairman of APC in Lagos State, Henry Ajomale, said he experts the process to be very tedious given the high number of delegates expected to cast ballots.

“I know it won’t be easy because of the number of delegates, but somebody will emerge as the party’s candidate today,” he said.

About 3,000 delegates across the 20 local governments of the state will vote in the primary that has 13 aspirants.

He also urged all aspirants to eschew any form of violence, saying there’s no doubt that only one person amongst them will emerge.

“Only one person amongst all of you will emerge from the process today. But there will be no winner and no vanquish,” he added.

The chairman also denied knowledge of a text message that has gone vital at the event, saying it did not emanate from him.

He said: “I, Otunba Oladele Henry Ajomale, want to use this medium to tell you categorically that the message that is circulating here to delegates that I want them to vote for a particular candidate is not from me. I am the leader to all of you, including the aspirants. I have no preferred candidate.”

All aspirants have taken their seats at the event, but none has said anything to the press.

As at the time of filling this report (2:40 p.m. WAT) all delegates present had been accredited.

Some of the aspirants participating in this year’s primary are: Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Hon. Adeyemi Ikuforiji, former Attorney-General of Lagos State, Mr. Supo Shasore, SAN, incumbent Senator Ganiu Solomon of Lagos West Senatorial District, former Chief Detail to Senator Bola Tinubu, Mr. Tayo Ayinde, former Commissioner for Special Duties, Dr. Tola Kasali, Mr. Adetokunbo Wahab.

Others are: former Commissioner for Health, Dr. Leke Pitan, state Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure, Dr. Obafemi Hamzat, Mr. Adekunle Disu, Mr. Tokunbo Wahab and former Accountant-General of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode.


*Note: Please follow the Western Post as we update these pages frequently as events unfold at the venue.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here