Home News State By State Bola Ige Memorial: Oyo Pupils Compete for N24 million Scholarship

Bola Ige Memorial: Oyo Pupils Compete for N24 million Scholarship

Bola Ige Memorial Scholarship
Bola Ige

Two primary school pupils are expected to win academic scholarships organized in honour of the former governor of old Oyo State, late Chief Bola Ige, by his family.

About 100 students drawn from various primary schools in both Oyo and Osun states will compete for two scholarships worth N12 million each.

Contestants, who must be highly gifted Primary Six pupils in public primary schools, will first be tested in a written examination after which the 10 best will proceed to the next second phase which is an oral test.

The winners will attend the The Vale College, Ibadan, for their Junior and Senior Secondary School studies (SS1 to SSS3) with zero tuition, free feeding, free boarding, free uniforms, free sports/house wears and textbooks.

Director of The Vale College, Mrs. Funso Adegbola, said the Chief Bola Ige Memorial Scholarship award was initiated to continue the ideals of the late administrator and lawyer.

“We instituted this scholarship because my parents were benefactors to many Nigerian students,” she said.

“It is in continuation of these high ideals bequeathed to me by my parents, that the Board of The Vale College decided to institute the Bola Ige Memorial Scholarship at The Vale College.”

The scholarships also cover the winner’s registration for the junior WAEC, WASSCE, and NECO.

Both awards will cost the school about N24 million naira.

“The monetary value of the scholarship is approximately 12 Million per annum per student, for six years.”

Bola Ige Memorial Scholarship

Adegbola said the first beneficiaries of the programme are already enjoying the full scholarship which covers tuition, boarding, books, examinations, etc.

“I am fully persuaded that they will do exceedingly well and I promised them that if they get a Distinction A Grade, in all their subjects, I will solicit for funding to send them to any Nigerian university of their choice.”

Chief Ige, the first governor of the old Oyo State from 1979-83, left a legacy of free education in the state.

Master Folajuwon Ganiyu of Ayekale Community Primary School IV and Titi Josephine Friday of Command Primary School, Odogbo, emerged overall winners of the maiden edition of the scheme.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here