Home Sports Brazil Faces Colombia at Copa America

Brazil Faces Colombia at Copa America


Brazil will face World Cup quarter-final opponents Colombia at the 2015 Copa America after the pair were drawn together in the group stage.

The pair will compete in Group C alongside Peru and Venezuela, while Argentina, holders Uruguay, Paraguay and Jamaica make up Group B.

Group A consists of hosts Chile, Mexico, Ecuador and Bolivia.

Twelve teams will be competing in the South American showpiece which begins in Santiago on Thursday, June 11.

Brazil reached the World Cup semi-final with a gripping 2-1 win against Colombia last summer.

The match was notable for the injury sustained by tournament poster boy Neymar, which ruled him out of the last-four tie against Germany.

Barcelona’s £75m signing Luis Suarez will miss the Copa America after being suspended for nine competitive Uruguay matches for biting Italian defender Giorgio Chiellini during a World Cup match.

World Cup finalists Argentina’s group features a rematch of the 2011 final between Uruguay and Paraguay, while Jamaica are one of two invited nations alongside Mexico.

After the round-robin group phase, the top two teams from each section will qualify for the quarter-finals along with the two best third-placed teams, at which point the tournament takes on a standard knockout format before the final on July 4, reports the BBC.

Copa America 2015

Group A     Group B       Group C

Chile           Argentina     Brazil

Mexico         Uruguay       Colombia

Ecuador       Paraguay       Peru

Bolivia         Jamaica         Venezuela



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here