Home Sports Toure wins African Footballer of Year award

Toure wins African Footballer of Year award

  • Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala wins women’s title

Yaya Toure was named African Footballer of the Year for a record fourth straight time at the annual Confederation of African Football awards on Thursday.

The Ivory Coast midfielder joins Samuel Eto’o as the only players to win the continent’s top individual award four times but only Toure has done it in successive years, starting in 2011.

His latest triumph came ahead of two other finalists, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama, in a poll of the coaches and captain’s of Africa’s national teams.

“I’ve been very blessed all these years,” Toure said at the ceremony. “I want to thank all the football fans and say ‘Thank you Africa’.”

Toure’s award comes on the back of his stellar performances for Manchester City in the Premier League rather than his achievements with the Ivory Coast.

The Ivorians failed to reach the second round at last year’s World Cup in Brazil and struggled through the qualifiers for the 2015 African Nations Cup.

The 31-year-old Toure scored in Manchester City’s League Cup final win over Sunderland in March and notched 20 goals in helping his side regain the Premier League title, a feat for a midfielder that only Frank Lampard had managed before him.

Meanwhile, Super Falcons talented striker, Asisat Oshoala was on Thursday named the 2014 Glo/Caf African Women Player of the Year.

The Rivers Angels forward defeated compatriot, Desire Oparanozie and Cameroonian goalkeeper, Annette Ngo Ndom for the coveted award in the colourful yearly awards ceremony in Lagos.

The lanky goal poacher five-star performance at the 2014 FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup in Canada where she won the Golden ball and Golden boot awards with stunning seven goals as well as her eye-catching feat at the 2014 Africa Women Championship (AWC) where she picked the Most Valuable Player (MVP) and silver boot award made her the overwhelming choice for the award, reports supersport.com.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here