Home News #OsunDecide2018, Rerun Election: Senator Iyiola Omisore (SDP) Agrees to Join Forces...

#OsunDecide2018, Rerun Election: Senator Iyiola Omisore (SDP) Agrees to Join Forces with Adeleke (PDP) to Defeat Oyetola (APC)


With the Osun State governorship election declared inconclusive by the Independent Electoral Commission, INEC, and a rerun date fixed for Thursday 27th of September in seven polling units scattered in four local government areas in the state, the PDP, SDP, ADP and the other political parties have reportedly agreed to merge and work together to secure a win for the PDP in the rerun election.

According to our Correspondents on ground, this move was initiated by the Senate president Bukola Saraki, who reached out to Senator Iyiola Omisore (SDP), to work with the PDP for rerun election. According to our source, Omisore immediately jumped at the idea and is currently in a meeting with Senator Adeleke (PDP) Adeoti of ADP and other aspirant strategizing on how they can pull their votes together for a PDP victory in the rerun.

The National Commission of INEC in the south west, Mr Deji Soyebi shortly of declaring the Osun guber election inconclusive said the rerun election will hold in two units in Ife south LG, one unit in Ife North and Osogbo LG Area respectively and three units in Orolu LGA.

Earlier, Senator Iyiola Omisore, the candidate of the Social Democratic Party in the Osun governorship election has been the target of attacks by PDP supporters on social media after INEC announced the results.

The PDP sympathisers blamed him for playing a spoiler and giving the APC candidate, Gboyega Oyetola, an advantage over the PDP candidate, Ademola Adeleke whch has resulted in a rerun.

In their calculations, Omisore has taken away the votes that ought to have been won by the PDP candidate from results from all the local councils released by INEC.

Omisore proved he has a solid home base when he thrashed all the other candidates, by winning his polling unit with 166 votes, leaving the APC, PDP and others  to scramble for the remaining 60 votes. PDP only scored nine votes at the polling unit 3, Moore Ward in Ile-Ife.

He went on to win his Moore Ward 11 by polling 2663 votes, while the APC candidate won 706 votes. The PDP candidate came a distant third winning 342 votes. ADC got 26 and ADP 145 votes.



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here