Home News Buhari Appoints Ambode’s, Amosun’s Associates to Represent Lagos, Ogun in Federal Character...

Buhari Appoints Ambode’s, Amosun’s Associates to Represent Lagos, Ogun in Federal Character Commission


Is this a permanent or temporary victory for former governor of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode?

This is because President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated Are Miftah Bolaji, Ambode’s close associate, as the representative of Lagos State at the Federal Character Commission.

The appointment is, however, subject to ratification by the Senate.

Also nominated is former candidate of Allied Peoples Movement in Ogun State in the last governorship election and an associate of former governor Ibikunle Amosun, Hon. Abiodun Akinlade, who is the nominee for the state.

Akinlade had defected from the All Progressives Congress to APM to contest the governorship poll which he lost. He later claimed to have returned to APC>

In the list read on the floor of the Senate on Tuesday, President Buhari nominated Dr. Muheeda Farida Dankaka from Kwara State as the Chairman of the Federal Character Commission.

Other nominated members of the board are Barr. Sesan Fatoba (Ekiti), Chief Olufemi Omosanya (Ondo), Adeoye Olalekan (Osun) and  Prof. Adeniyi Olowofela (Oyo).

Also nominated are Henry Ogbulogo, Salihu Bello, Obonganwan Ebong, Ibeabuchi Uche, Mohammed Tijjani, Tonye Okio, Silas Macikpah, Abba Monguno, and Nsor Atamgba.

The president appointed Alims Agoda, Tobias Chukwuemeka, Imuetinyan Festus, Sesan Fatoba, Ginika Florence Tor, Hamza Mohammed, Diogu Uche, Lawan Roni, and Hadiza Muazu.

Also appointed are Muhammad Na‘iya, Lawal Garba, Abubakar Bunu, Idris Bello, Daniel Kolo, Are Bolaji, Nasir Kwarra, and Maj. Gen. Suleiman Said (rtd).

Buhari also appointed Stephen Jings, Wokocha Augustine, Abdullahi Tafida, Armaya’u Abubakar, Jibril Maigari, Sani Garba and Adamu Sidi-Ali.

The appointment was contained in a letter which was read out by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday. The president wrote the Senate seeking confirmation of the appointments.

In the letter, Buhari said: “It is my hope that the Senate will consider and confirm the nominees in the usual expeditious manner. Please accept, Distinguished Senate President, the assurances of my highest consideration.”

In a separate letter, President Buhari sought the confirmation of appointments of seven members of the Board of Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission.

They are Salamatu Mohammad, Alfred Egba, Adamu Yuguda, Emmanuel O. Nwosu, Oladele Gboyega, Bello Wamakko and Ahmed A. Yusuf.

Two commissioners were also appointed to the Federal Civil Service Commission.

See the full list below:



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here