Nigeria’s Senior Women’s Team formally begins a new life under Coach Edwin Okon with an international friendly against the Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon at the National Stadium, Abuja on Tuesday, starting from 4pm.

Cameroon’s contingent of 18 players and 14 officials will arrive in Lagos on Saturday evening aboard an Arik Air flight from Douala, and fly to Abuja on Sunday morning.

The friendly international pits two of the leading women football teams in the continent against each other, as both nations look ahead to the final round of qualification series for the 2014 African Women Championship.

The Falcons have a date against She-Amavubi of Rwanda, with the first leg away in Kigali on May 24, and Tuesday’s session is expected to provide the six-time African champions a good idea of what to expect in East Africa.

Since the African Women Championship was launched in 1998, the Falcons have only failed to lift the trophy in the two editions hosted by Equatorial Guinea, in 2008 and 2012.

NFF President, Alhaji Aminu Maigari, has charged the girls to not only ensure qualification for Namibia 2014, but to go and reclaim the title.

In his letter dated April 23 and addressed to NFF General Secretary, Musa Amadu, the General Secretary of FECAFOOT, Mr. Tombi Sidiki listed the 18 Lionesses coming as Cathy Ndjouh Bouh, Flore Regine Enyegue, Sylvia Augustine Ejangue, Raissa Tchouano Feudjio,

Amarielle Ysis Sonkeng, Laure Annette Ngo, Grace Jeannette Ngock, Periale Ndengue, Yvonne Chibosso Leuko, Georgette Agathe Ngani, Annecy Kamdem Nguiadem, Edith Genevieve Ngo, Gabrielle Onguene Aboudi, Ajara Njoya Nchout, Adrienne Mihamle Iven, Menene Meyong, Francine Edoa Zouga and Ndoum Carine Yoh.

Accompanying officials are Mrs Celine Eko (HOD, FECAFOOT), Mrs Medouane Alvine (Ministry of Sports & Physical Education), Mr. Albert Ayomba (FECAFOOT), Mr. Enow Ngachu (Head Trainer), Mrs Azang Anong

(Deputy Trainer), Mr. Djeumfa Alain Defrasne (Preparatory Trainer), Mr. Assimba Clement (Goalkeepers’ Trainer), Mrs Rosette Ebok (Team Doctor), Mr. Sebastien Gouanfo (Physiotherapist), Mrs Rose Vianey Kankanou (Physiotherapist), Mrs Nseke Ufei (Press Officer), Mrs Angele Elise bekotto (Team Administrator), Mr. Rigobert Georges Okala (Nutritionist) and Mr Divine Evehe (Referee Counsellor).


Like and Share this: