Home News Council of States Confirms Appointments of IGP, 6 INEC, 5 NPC Commissioners

Council of States Confirms Appointments of IGP, 6 INEC, 5 NPC Commissioners


The Council of State after its meeting on Wednesday confirmed Mr. Ibrahim Kpotun Idris, as Nigeria’s Inspector General of Police. The Council also ratified the appointments of six Independent National Electoral Commission and fine National Population Commissioners.

Governor Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos State made this known in Abuja on Wednesday while briefing State House Correspondents on the outcome of the meeting of the Council of State.

The meeting was presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari.


“We deliberated on the appointment of six national commissioners for INEC, you know INEC is supposed to have 12 Commissioners.
“We had earlier approved six sometimes last year and additional six were actually approved today.

“And those six represent six nominees from the six geo-political zones.

“You may wish to know that we approved five new commissioners for the National Population Commission, NPC in addition to what was actually approved for INEC,’’ he said.

He gave the names of the six INEC commissioners to include Alhaji Mohammed Haruna (North Central); retired AVM Ahmed Tijjani Mu’azu (North East); and Abubakar Nahuce (North West).

Others are Prof. Okechukwu Ibanu (South East); May Agbamuche Mbu (South South) and Dr. Adekunle Ogunmola from the South West.

The NPC Commissioners, according to him, are Dr Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo); Patricia Iyaya (Benue); Benedict Ukpong (Akwa Ibom); Dr Haliru Bala (Kebbi) and Gloria Isofo from Bayelsa.

He stated that the council had earlier approved six INEC commissioners on Oct. 21, 2015.

The governor further revealed that the council was also briefed on the state of the economy.

“The minister of state from the Ministry of Budget and Planning actually made a presentation to council on the ways and manner in which the Federal Government is approaching the way to rescue the recession path that we are going through.

“Council was confident and also approved the measures the federal government is putting in ensuring that Nigeria goes on the path of recovery as quickly as possible.’’

Also addressing the correspondents on outcome of the meeting, Gov. Badaru Abubakar of Jigawa State, disclosed that the Council and the Police Council had ratified the appointment of acting Inspector-General of Police Ibrahim Idris.

“We deliberated on the confirmation of the Inspector-General of Police (IGP).

“There was almost unanimous acceptance of his confirmation. So, the Police Council resolved to confirm the Acting Inspector-General of Police, Ibrahim Idris,’’ he said.

The council meeting was attended by Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, state governors, former Chief Justices of Nigeria (CJN) including Lawal Uwais, Dahiru Musdafa, Alfa Belgore and Alooma Muktar.

The first meeting of the council under the current political dispensation, was held on Oct. 21, 2015.

Idris had been operating in acting capacity since former Inspector General of Police Arase retired.

New IG Ibrahim Kpotun

Wednesday’s Council of States meeting was also attended by former President Goodluck Jonathan, former Head of Interim National Government, Chief Ernest Shonekan, some governors and Federal Executive Council members.

It was the first time former President Jonathan was attending the meeting after Buhari took over from him in May 2015.

The new InspectorGeneral hails from Kutigi, Lavun in Niger State. He was born on January 15, 1959, and was enlisted into the Nigerian Police Force in 1984, after graduating from the Ahmadu Bello University Zaria with a Bachelors degree in Agriculture. He also holds a degree in Law from the University of Maiduguri. 
AIG Idris has served in various commands and formations in the Nigerian Police Force, working in the Police Mobile Force for 17 years as Unit Commander, Squadron Commander, and Commandant.
He served as Commissioner of Police in Nasarawa and Kano States and was also the Commissioner of Police in charge of Police Mobile Force at the Force Headquarters.
He was also at the United Nations Mission in Liberia and East Timor and was awarded “Medal of Merit” by the President of the Republic of East Timor in recognition of his service. 

Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here