Home Lagos House of Assembly this Week EndSARS Protests: Drama As Lagos Judicial Panel Divided Over LCC Repossession Of...

EndSARS Protests: Drama As Lagos Judicial Panel Divided Over LCC Repossession Of Lekki Tollgate Plaza



There was a mild drama at the Lagos Judicial Panel on Restitution for Victims of SARS related abuses and other matters sitting on Saturday, as members of the panel were divided over the order to direct the Lekki Concession Company (LCC) to take possession of the Lekki tollgate plaza.

As five of the members sat over the application of the company to take possession were listening to submission from the LCC, Lagos state government and the EndSARS protesters lawyers, the dissenting four members led by Mr Ebun Olu-Adegboruwa (SAN) who initially abstained from the sitting, suddenly resurfaced from the inner chamber to read their dissenting opinion on the matter.

The action of the four dissenting panel members were disputed by Mr. Rotimi Seriki (SAN) counsel for LCC and Mr. Olukayode Enitan (SAN) counsel for Lagos state government, who prevented Mr. Ebun Olu-Adegboruwa from reading his personal dissenting judgement as they accused him of being an interested party in the matter having sued the Lagos state government over the Lekki tollgate plaza in the past. Their argument made Mr. Ebun Olu-Adegboruwa to step down from reading his dissenting opinion.

Due to the action of the dissenting members, the panel adjourned all other cases slated to be heard today.

The five members who supported the opinion of allowing LCC to take possession of the Lekki tollgate plaza are; the panel chairman, Justice Doris Okuwobi (Rtd), Taiwo Lakanu DIG (Rtd.), Lucas Koyejo, Segun Awosanya and Mrs. Oluwatoyin Odusanya, while the four dissenting members are; Mr Ebun Olu- Adegboruwa (SAN), Ms Olorunrinu Oduala, Mr Temitope Majekodunmi and Mrs Patience Patrick Udoh.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here