Home Politics Essien, Wale Raji, Odunmbaku Win Lagos Mainland, Ikosi Ejirin, Ojodu

Essien, Wale Raji, Odunmbaku Win Lagos Mainland, Ikosi Ejirin, Ojodu



The Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) Chairmanship candidates for Lagos Mainland Local Government, Ikosi-Ejirin and Ojodu Local Council Development Areas winners of Saturday’s election.

Result released by LASIEC showed that Mrs Omolola Essien of Lagos Mainland won the election with 8,428 votes.

Her closest rival, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 1,253 while Accord Party (AP) and Youth Party (YP) polled 89 and 35 votes respectively leaving the total votes as 9,805.

APC also won all the nine coouncillorship seats in the local government.

In Ikosi-Ejirin LCDA, APC candidate, Akogun Wale Raji was declared winner by LASIEC.

In a related development,  David Olusegun Odunmbaku of APC was declared winner in Ojodu Local Council Development Area.

Blaize Abimbola Olufunmilayo, the LASIEC Local Government Collation and Returning Officer for the election, declared the result at the collation centre situated at Ojodu LCDA Secretariat at 10:50pm on Saturday.

Declaring the winner, Olufunmilayo said: “I, Blaize Abimbola Olufunmilayo, hereby declare David Olusegun Odunmbaku of APC, the winner of the chairmanship election of Ojodu LCDA having complied with the requirements of the law and scored the majority number of votes.

“The aforementioned is hereby elected and returned.”

According to her, Odunmbaku, polled 8,965 votes to defeat his closest rival, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 837 votes while YPP scores 38.

APC candidates also won the six Councillorship seats.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here