Fayemi’s Former SSG, Oyebanji Wins Ekiti APC Gubernatorial Primary


    Former Secretary to the Ekiti State Government (SSG), Biodun Oyebanji has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in the state.

    Oyebanji, according to Cablenews, defeated other aspirants to emerge winner of the primary election on Thursday.

    He polled 101,703 votes, while his closest challengers; Ojo Kayode had 767, Opeyemi Bamidele had 760 and Dayo Adeyeye polled 691 votes.

    The result was announced by Jigawa State Governor, Mohammed Badaru, who is the chairman of the primary election committee.

    Oyebanji will be APC’s standard-bearer in the governorship election to be conducted on June 18 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

    The APC governorship candidate has served in at least three governments since Ekiti State was created in 1996 by the late Sani Abacha.

    He served as the special adviser on parliamentary affairs in the administration of Niyi Adebayo, a former governor of the state.

    He was chief of staff to Kayode Fayemi, the incumbent governor, in his first term.

    Oyebanji is believed to have the backing of both Fayemi and Adebayo.

    It would be recalled that seven aspirants including, Opeyemi Bamidele, Kayode Mojo, Demola Popoola, Femi Bamisile, Bamidele Faparusi, Dayo Adeyeye and Afolabi Oluwasola had earlier withdrawn from the contest alleging that the primary election committee is made up of loyalists of Governor Fayemi.

    Despite the calls for cancellation, the Ekiti chapter of the party said the exercise would go on as scheduled, insisting that there was a level-playing field for all aspirants.


    Like and Share this:


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here