Home Sports FIFAWC 2018: Starting Line-up As Nigeria Face Argentina in Group D

FIFAWC 2018: Starting Line-up As Nigeria Face Argentina in Group D


The starting lineup for both the Super Eagles of Nigeria and the La Albiceleste of Argentina in their Group D Russia 2018 World Cup match has been revealed.

Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has decided to stick with the team that defeated Iceland 2-0 last week, meaning the team will maintain the 3-5-2 formation which saw Ahmed Musa grabbing a brace in a match that rejuvenated the Super Eagles World Cup hopes

On the other hand, Argentina coach, Jorge Sampaoli, has dropped Manchester City striker Sergio Aguero, who is believed to be one of several players who declared war on the beleaguered coach, following the 1-1 draw with Iceland and the 3-0 drubbing by Croatia.

Sampaoli who won his battle to remain as manager in Russia, after a dressing room mutiny failed according to a report by UK Mirror, also axed Chelsea backup keeper, Willy Caballero, following mistakes in both games and replaced him with Franco Armani.

Sampaoli backed by Argentine FA president, Claudio Tapia, replaced Aguero in the team with Juventus striker, Gonzalo Higuain.

Below is the team list:

Nigeria XI:

Uzoho, Idowu, Ekong, Balogun, Omeruo, Ndidi, Etebo, Mikel, Musa, Moses, Iheanacho.

Argentina XI:

Armani, Mercado, Tagliafico, Mascherano, Rojo, Otamendi, Banega, Di Maria, Perez, Higuain, Messi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here