Home News FINAL RESULTS: Buhari-15,424,921 Votes, Jonathan -12,853,162 Votes

FINAL RESULTS: Buhari-15,424,921 Votes, Jonathan -12,853,162 Votes



Jega Declares Buhari Winner of Presidential Poll

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Major-General Muhammadu Buhari, winner of Saturday’s presidential election.

The result was announced by INEC Chairman Prof. Attahiru Jega after a collation process that spanned three days.

Announcing the result in Abuja about 3.15 a.m., Jega, theChief Returning Officer for the polls, said that Buhari satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes.

According to him, Buhari polled a total of 15,424,921votes to defeat his closest rival and incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 12,853,162 votes.

“Having satisfied the provisions of the law and having scored the highest number of votes cast, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari stands elected as president,” the INEC Chairman said.

The result showed that Buhari beat Jonathan by 2,571,759 votes, and won in 22 states.

Before the final result was declared, Jonathan, in a rare display of gallantry, had conceded defeat and congratulated Buhari.

It was the first time an incumbent president would be defeated in the country

Buhari obtained 25 per cent of votes cast in 27 states and the Federal Capital Territory while Jonathan obtained 25 per cent of votes cast in 26 states and the FCT.

The Constitution states that a candidate must secure a majority of the total votes cast, and a minimum of 25 per cent in two-thirds of the states and the FCT, which is 24, to emerge winner.

A breakdown of the results as announced by Jega showed that the APC candidate garnered 53.96 per cent of the total valid votes cast in the elections.

Buhari won in all seven states of the North-West comprising Kano, Jigawa, Katsina, Kaduna, Kebbi, Sokoto and Zamfara, and in Benue, Kogi, Kwara and Niger in North Central. In the North-East, he clinched majority votes in Gombe, Adamawa, Bauchi, Yobe, and Borno, in addition to Ogun, Osun, Ondo, Oyo and Lagos in the South-West.

On his part, Jonathan swept all the states in the South-east comprising Enugu, Anambra, Abia, Ebonyi and Imo and South-south states of Bayelsa, Akwa Ibom, Cross Rivers, Edo, Delta and Rivers.

He also got a majority of the votes in Ekiti in the South-west, Taraba in the North-east, and Nasarawa, Plateau and FCT in the North-central.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here