Home News Folarin Emerges Oyo PDP Guber Candidate, as Akala Defects to Labour Party

Folarin Emerges Oyo PDP Guber Candidate, as Akala Defects to Labour Party



By Olaolu Bilau
Former Senate Leader, Teslim Kolawole Folarin, has emerged the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State just as his closest rival in the race, Otunba Adebayo Alao Akala officially moved to the Labour Party.
A breakdown of the result released by the chairman of the Electoral Committee, Senator Abba Aji, showed that Senator Folarin scored 167 out of the 199 valid votes cast to defeat nine other aspirants including Alhaji Hazeem Gbolarumi, Prof. Soji Adejumo, Dr. Azeez Adeduntan, Senator Ayoade Adeseun, Prof. Taofeek Adedoja, who were physically present at the primary.
Voting at the election, which was generally peaceful did not commence until some minutes past four in the evening. There were a total of 208 delegates comprising 165 party officials from ward, local government areas, 29 state executives officers of the party, 10 state and 7 National Assembly lawmakers.
But a new twist to the exercise was the absence of five of the gubernatorial aspirants at the primary held at the Obafemi Awolowo Stadium. They were Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala, Engr. Seyi Makinde, Engr. Femi Babalola Jogor, Mr. Kehinde Olaosebikan and Dr. Isaac Babalola, who were not only physically absent but also failed to send their agents to monitor the exercise.

Otunba Alao Akala has joined the Labour Party and is expected to declare officially for the party on December 11while the reason for the boycott by some of the aspirants remains unknown.
This, however, might not be unconnected with the crisis that characterised the ward congresses of the party leading up to the primary.
However, in his acceptance speech, governorship candidate of the PDP in Oyo State, Senator Folarin thanked all those who worked for his emergence, promising not to betray the trust they have in him.
He urged all the other aspirants to work with him and ensure the victory of the party at the polls.
‘’It is now time to put aside our personal interests and approach the imminent general election with a united front and purpose,’’ he said.

Senator Folarin promised to unfold the manifesto of his party soon.
Some of the PDP bigwigs in the state who were at the election included Majority Leader, House of Representatives, Hon. Mulikat Adeola, Hon. Muraina Ajibola, Senator Hosea Agboola, Alhaji Yekini Adeojo among others.
The Oyo State PDP Electoral Committee had Senator Abba Aji as Chairman, Dr. Victoria Bellu, member, Hon. Funmi Olasehinde, PDP State Chairman, Yinka Taiwo and Barr. Chigbo Obiakor as member/Secretary.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here