Home News State By State Group Demands Immediate Release of Detained Ekiti APC Members

Group Demands Immediate Release of Detained Ekiti APC Members


A group called, Southwest Progressive Youths and Peoples Movement (SWYPM), has demanded the unconditional release of some All Progressives Congress (APC), members in Ekiti State who are being detained in Federal Prisons, Ado-Ekiti on alleged trumped-up charges.

Apart from the APC members, the group also deplored the arrest of those they referred to as progressive youths across the state.


Rising from its meeting held in Ado Ekiti at the weekend, the youths urged the Attorney General of the Federation, National Human Rights Commission (NHRC), the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), National Judicial Council (NJC), and the Police to launch an investigation into why the APC members ‎had been “perpetually kept behind bars.”

Prominent APC members being detained in Ekiti include a youth leader, Sola Adenijo; Odua Peoples Congress (OPC) leader, Adeniyi Adedipe; former Road Transport Employers Association (RTEAN) chairmen, Rotimi Olanbiwonnu and Adebayo Aderiye; Sola Durodola, Ajayi Kayode and Oso Farotimi.

According to the communique signed by SWYPM National Coordinator, Taiwo Ajayi, and other exco members, the youths said they have commenced aggressive mobilization of young people to ensure the installation of a progressive government “that will return Ekiti to the good old days.”

It urged the youths to be creative and self-reliant rather than depending on government for all their needs at all times, saying this ‎will build their confidence and help maximize their potentials


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here