Home 2019-Elections INEC Declares Seyi Makinde Winner Oyo Gov. Election

INEC Declares Seyi Makinde Winner Oyo Gov. Election


By Richard Thomas, Ibadan

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate in the March 9, 2019 election,  Engineer Seyi Makinde has been declared winner of the election.

Engineer Makinde Polled 515,621 votes to defeat the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), which polled 357,982.
He was declared winner by INEC Returning Officer, Professor Oluwatoyin  Ogundipe having scored the highest votes and returned elected.
He also announced results of elections into the state House of Assembly saying, the PDP won 26 seats, APC five seats and ADP one seat.
“I, professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, the Returning  Officer for Oyo State governorship election  hereby declare  PDP candidate, Engineer Seyi Makinde winner of the election having polled the highest votes and has been returned elected”.
In his remark, the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Barrister Mutiu Agboke thanked traditional rulers in the state for their support especially in the area of voter education.
He thanked the Olubadan of Ibadanland, Oba Saliu Adetunji Aje Ogunguniso 1, the Alaafin of Of Oyo, Oba Lamidi Adeyemi III,  Soun of Ognomoso, Oba Jimoh Oyewunmi Ajagungbade III and others for their fatherly role during the election.
He also thanked the media, police and other security agents who worked together with the commission to achieve the success.
Barrister Agboke said the era of riggings are over in the state adding that nobody would be allowed to benefit from wrong doing and ringing.
He said INEC has  over 7,000 Permanent Voters Card (PVC) uncollected.
He puts the total valid votes as 916,806, rejected votes 20,685 while the  total votes cast is 937,545.
Meanwhile, the APC state secretary, Comrade Mojeed Olaoya has congratulated Engineer Seyi Makinde for the  victory.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here