Home News Jonathan Approves 12 New Community Radio Stations

Jonathan Approves 12 New Community Radio Stations

Jonathan approves 12 new Community radio stations
Emeka Mba

12 new community radio stations have been approved by the outgoing President Goodluck Jonathan, in order to further create an effective platform for reaching rural dwellers.

This development comes in view of the federal government considering the possibility of pushing forward the June 17 deadline, set by the International Telecommunication Union, for the global switch over of television signals from analogue to digital transmission.

Mr. Emeka Mba, the Director-General of the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), who made this known yesterday, said the president Jonathan has approved the establishment of two radio stations in each of the six geo-political zones in the country.

[Read Also]: Jonathan to Present Handover Notes to Buhari on May 28

He further stressed that the commission was working with the Community Radio Coalition which will be visiting the NBC with representatives of the licensed station so as to give them an understanding what the commission expects them to accomplish.

Emeka also said the country would be unable to transition along with the rest of the world because the federal government was yet to release the N60 billion long earmarked as the cost of the Digital Switch over (DSO) process, stating the commission had been operating on a zero-budget basis as far the allocation to DSO was concerned.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here