Home News State By State Kogi Assembly Re-elect Matthew Kolawole as 7th Speaker

Kogi Assembly Re-elect Matthew Kolawole as 7th Speaker

By Olawale Ibrahim, Lokoja

Following the proclamation and declaration of the 7th Legislative Aasembly open by Governor Yahaya Bello, Kogi State House of Assembly has re-elected Honourable Mathew Olushola Kolawole as the Speaker of House.

This followed his nomination by Hon. Bello Abdullahi Balogun, member representing Ajaokuta Constituency and seconded by a member representing Ankpa II constituency, Hon. Alfa Rabiu Momoh.

The Clerk of the House, Pastor Mathew Shuaibu, called for more nominations from members, but there was no response as members there was silent.

Shuaibu therefore declared the immediate-past Speaker, Mathew Kolawole as re-elected unopposed.

“In the absence of further nominations, the nomination has closed. I, therefore, declare Right Hon. Speaker Mathew Olushola Kolawole as Speaker elected unopposed,” he said.

In the same vein, Hon. Monday Abbah representing Ibaji, also nominated Hon. Ahmed Mohammed representing Ankpa 1 constituency as the Deputy Speaker. It was seconded by Hon. Jmoh Musa Omiata and subsequently, Hon. Abbah was returned unopposed.

After this, the Clerk of the House immediately administered the oath of office on Hon. Mathew Olushola Kolawole and his new Deputy, Ahmed Mohammed.

The clerk ended the proceedings and immediately left the stage for the newly-elected speaker to take charge.

Shortly after taking his seat as Speaker, Hon. Kolawole called for nominations of other principal officers during which Hon. Idoko Musa nominated for the position of Majority Leader, Hon. Bello Hassan Balogun, the immediate-past Majority Leader of the House. The nomination was seconded by Hon. Collins Musa.

The lawmaker representing Igalamela/Odo Constituency, Hon. Cosmos Attabor, however, nominated the other three principal officers of the 7th Legislative Assembly, Deputy Majority leader, Honourable Ndakwo Idris, Lokoja II, Mukthar Baje, Okehi as chief whip and Ododo Moses Deputy Chief whip all returned unopposed.

In his acceptance speech, the Speaker, Right Honoura le Mathew Olushola Kolawole who expressed gratitude God  for found him worthy to be come speaker of 7th legislative Assembly.

He commended the State governor Alhaji Yahaya Bello for giving him the opportunity to serve the state, saying that the House will continue to cooperate with the executive for over all development of Kogi State.

Kolawole also thanks all the members for the support, noting that he would run all inclusive leadership as the speaker and every members will be carried along.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here