Home News Kogi Governorship Race: APC NWC Clears 9, Rejects 7

Kogi Governorship Race: APC NWC Clears 9, Rejects 7


The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has finally cleared nine and rejected seven for the party’s Kogi governorship indirect primary coming up August 29, 2019. 

The NWC after screening and appeal committees for the Party’s Kogi Governorship aspirants, rejected, Prof. Mohammed Seidu Onaili, Usman Oyibe Jibrin, Mustapha Mona Audu, and Rukkaya Ibrahim.

Others not cleared are Gen. Patrick Adenu Akpa, Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera and Muhammed Abubakar Unukwu Audu. 

National Publicity Secretary, APC, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu, in a statement on Wednesday said, the NWC has cleared, the state governor, Yahaya Bello, Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim, Yahaya Odidi Audu, and Sani Lulu Abdullahi.

According to him, Engr. Abubakar Bashir, Engr. Danlami Umar Mohammed, Yakubu Mohammed, Hassan Abdullahi, and Ekele Aishat Blessing were cleared. 

“After a comprehensive review of the submissions by the two committees, relying on the party’s guidelines and the provisions of the Electoral Act, nine aspirants were finally cleared to contest the August 29, 2019 Indirect Governorship primary. 

“Seven other aspirants did not meet the requirements for participation in the exercise,” the statement added. 

WESTERN POST reported on Tuesday that the NWC upheld the disqualification of Dr. Briyai Oyeins Frankland, a governorship aspirant in Bayelsa state based on the party’s guidelines for the nomination of candidates.

 Issa-Onilu had explained that “The APC NWC upheld the disqualification of Dr. Briyai Oyeins Frankland based on Section 3 Paragraph “L” of the Party’s guidelines for the nomination of candidates which requires that aspirants are a card-carrying member of the party for a period of one year.

“The party also found no record of his membership of APC and was therefore considered ineligible.”





Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here