Home News Kwara LG Poll: APC Clears All 16 LGAs, Claims KWASIEC Chair Ajidagba

Kwara LG Poll: APC Clears All 16 LGAs, Claims KWASIEC Chair Ajidagba

By Mosunmola Ayobami, Kwara
The Chairman, Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWASIEC), Dr. Uthman Ajidagba, has declared that the governiing party in the state, the All Progressives Congress, has won the entire 16 Local Government ‎Areas of the state in the Saturday, November 18th, 2017 Local Government Chairmanship and Councillorship Election conducted by the commission.
Ajidagba made the declaration while speaking with newsmen at the KWASIEC Office on Sunday, adding that the result came late due to the two local government areas- Baruten and Kaiama-which are far off.
He said: “We have conducted the election which the security agents adjudged peaceful. Thank God for the success recorded in the election conducted on 18th of November 2017.
“I as Chief Electoral Officer of the state hereby declare that the 16 Local government Areas was cleared by All Progressive Congress (APC)”.
Ajidagba said each LG Electoral Officer would announce ‎the result in each local government so as to show the high level of transparency on the part of the commission.
He said out of the 36 political parties present in Kwara, only eleven participated in the November 18th 2017 Local government election.
According to the electoral officers of ‎ each local government, the results in each council is as follows:
Ifelodun Local Government-APC Chairmanship candidate won unopposed with 58,369 votes;
Offa- APC with 29,166 cleared all the twelve wards; Irepodun- APC-23,230, PDP-6,497 as APC cleared all eleven wards.
Others are Oke-Ero-APC:13,431, PDP:3,865 as APC won seven wards while PDP took the three remaining wards.
In Oyun‎- APC polled 31,126 and cleared the whole eleven wards; Kaiama-APC -17,743, PDP:3,686, APC won whole ten wards; Moro- APC:36,805, PDP:3,744 as APC won sixteen wards with one ward pending.
In Isin, APC-12,552, PDP: 4,413 and cleared all eleven wards; Ekiti-APC-20,612, PDP;3,205 and APC won all ten wards, while in Baruten, APC:26,253, PDP:12,743. APC cleared all 11 wards.
Similarly in Ilorin West, APC polled19,952, PD15,085. Out of twelve wards, APC won nine while PDP has two, the remaining one ward is inconclusive; Asa: APC-19,454,PDP5,627, APC cleared all seventeen wards, while in Ilorin South: APC got 11,908 votes, PDP: 5,502. APC won all eleven wards.
In Edu APC candidate won unoppossed with 25,778 votes while APC took seven out of ten wards,PDP won one. The election could not be conducted in two wards due to unrest in the areas,Ilorin East:APC;26,410,PDP;10,513 as APC won ten out of twelve wards while PDP won two wards.
In Patigi, APC polled16,316, PDP-9;9,860. APC won all ten wards.

Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here