Home Politics Lagos APC Congress: Ojelabi, Odesanya, 34 Others Emerge Unopposed

Lagos APC Congress: Ojelabi, Odesanya, 34 Others Emerge Unopposed



…Lagos4Lagos Movement, Akinwunmi Ambode Campaign Organisation hold separate congresses

The state congress of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos, was on Saturday conducted in a peaceful atmosphere as security operatives were conspicuously stationed in all strategic points at the venue.

Security operatives ranging from the Nigerian Police Force (NPF), Nigerian Civil and Security Defence Corps (NSCDC) and Lagos State Niegbourhood and Safety Corps( LNSC) were stationed at entry points, screening everyone coming into the Mobolaji Johnson Arena (formerly Onikan Stadium), Onikan, Lagos Island.

At about 11: 55am, Chairman of the Lagos APC Congress Committee from Abuja, Mr Bayo Adelabu, mounted the podium to kickstart the election process as he introduced the members of his committee to the audience.

Adelabu, while delivering his opening speech, said the responsibilities of the Committee was to oversee the congress process and ensure that the process was in line with the stipulated guidelines.

The Committee Chairman explained further that the aspirants were rigorously screened and their names published at the party’s secretariat, adding that 1,615 delegates were to participate in the electoral process.

Speaking further, Adelabu said the Committee received 37 forms and that each of the aspirants was screened and found to be eligible for the congress.

He added that two forms were received for the position of state chairman and that only one was cleared to participate, adding that  “all the 36 positions were returned unpposed”.

Adelabu said voice voting would be adopted since the 36 positions were returned unopposed.

For the affirmation of Hon. Cornelius Ojelabi as state chairman, Hon. James Faleke (House of Reps, Ikeja) nominated him while Hon. Olufemi Adebanjo (House of Reps, Alimosho) seconded the nomination and thereafter a voice vote was conducted to affirm the nomination.

Also, for the affirmation of Mr Moshood Mayegun as deputy chairman, Mrs Toke Benson (Special Adviser On Housing To Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu) nominated him while Hon. Bamgbose Joseph (former federal legislator, Badagry) seconded the nomination and thereafter a voice vote was conducted to affirm him.

For the affirmation of Hon. Sunmi Odesanya as secretary, Hon. Ademorin Kuye (House of Reps, Somolu ) made the nomination while Mrs Bolaji Dada (Commissioner for Women Affairs) seconded it and thereafter a voice vote was conducted for his affirmation.

Speaking with journalists after his election, Ojelabi said he would run an all inclusive leadership style, assuring that he would reach out to all aggrieved groups.

Ojelabi, who commended the outgone party executives for consolidating the party’s achievements over the years, said that he and his team would take the party to a greater height.

He also commended Governor Sanwo-Olu for his performance in the last two years, eulogising the National Leader of the party, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu for his fatherly role in Lagos and Nigeria at large.

Meanwhile, two other state congresses were alleged to have also been held.

Our correspondent learnt that the Lagos4Lagos Movement and the Akinwunmi Ambode Campaign Organisation (AAMCO) held their own congresses at Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja and Baptist Academy, Obanikoro respectively.



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here