Home News Lagos Assembly: Six PDP Lawmakers Decamp to APC, Eulogise Tinubu

Lagos Assembly: Six PDP Lawmakers Decamp to APC, Eulogise Tinubu


By: Okunade Adekunle

Six Members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Lagos State House of Assembly have defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

In a letter read by the Acting Clerk, Mr. Sanni Azeez, expressed and confirmed their signatory to the letter announcing their defection citing the need for their Constituents to further enjoy good governance, exemplary leadership and high performance of Governor Akinwunmi Ambode as the reason for their defection.

The decampee include the former Majority Whip, Hon. Mosunmola Rotimi representing Surulere Constituency II, Hon. Olusola Akeem Sokunle representing Oshodi-Isolo Consttuency II, Hon. Jude Idimogu, representing Oshodi/Isolo Constituency II, Hon. Fatai Oluwa representing Ajeromi-Ifelodun constituency II and Hon. Famakinwa Adedayo, representing Ajeromi-Ifelodun I.

They had equally acknowledged the leadership style of the APC leader Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as very inspiring compared to the raging discordant tune in their former party, the PDP which according to them is embedded in leadership crisis among their problems. They however, appealed to the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa to use his good office to facilitate their migration.

Meanwhile, the Minority Leader, Hon. Akeem Bello representing Amuwo-Odofin Constituency II also joined his colleagues, announcing his defection on the floor of the House , thereby bringing the number of PDP Lawmakers decamped to 6. By this defection, the All Progressive Congress, APC has moved 38 Members, while the PDP is left with only 2 Members. The 2 remaining PDP Members are Hon. Dipo Olorunrinu, representing Amuwo-Odofin Consistuency I and Hon. Victor Akande, representing Ojo Consisituency I.

Hon.  Adefunmilayo Tejuosho in her words applauded the Speaker for emulating the leadership style of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed by being the man of the people and congratulated the defectors “I commend the leadership style of the Speaker and I applaud the new Members for taking a bold step that is expected of a sensible person. I also appreciate Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode for not being sectional in developing Lagos”. She stated.

Hon. Lanre Ogunyemi stated that “our colleagues who have chosen to desert their party for a new one should be commended for their courage and bravery because our party has done well to bring our country out of the  dungeon”.

To this end, The Speaker while welcoming the new Members pledged to work together with them for the economic growth and infrastructural development of the State.

“You’ve taken a step at a time Nigeria needs a good collective decision because electorate voted us in to represent their interest. Thanks for choosing APC. It does not matter the party you belong to, the ability to move Lagos forward is our responsibility. I am also looking forward to receiving Hon. Akeem Bello’s official statement in respect to his statement on the floor of the House”

He thereby commended his colleagues for their collective responsibility in ensuring the flow of integrity in the House.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here