Home Politics Lagos Bye-Elections: Our Candidates’ Victory, A Vote Of Confidence In Sanwo-Olu- APC

Lagos Bye-Elections: Our Candidates’ Victory, A Vote Of Confidence In Sanwo-Olu- APC



All Progressives Congress (APC, Lagos State) on Tuesday said the victory of its candidates in last Saturday’s bye-elections was a vote of confidence on Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s government by the people, saying that the euphoria generated by the peaceful conduct and the victory of the party had continued to reverberate throughout Nigeria.

The party, in a statement, issued by its State Publicity Secretary, Hon. Seye Oladejo, said since the inception of the Sanwo-Olu’s administration, the Lagos state government has hit the ground running in a dogged determination to fulfill its part of the social contract.

APC added “The Lagos East Senatorial and Kosofe 2 House of Assembly by- elections presented an opportunity to assess the performance of the present administration and most especially its response to the unexpected challenges.

“While our opponents focused on unimpressive rhetorics which failed to impress the electorate, we presented candidates with impeccable pedigree who will undoubtedly complement the progressive governance in the state.

The party added ” The failure of the the campaign of calumny, once again, demonstrated the political sophistication of Lagosians who saw through the facade of deliberate misinformation, deceit and propaganda.

“Through their votes, the electorate in the Lagos East Senatorial district acknowledged and appreciated the various developmental projects in their part of the state”.

The statement reads ” The party appreciated the tremendous support of the electorate that gave the unprecedented 89 per cent of the total votes cast to us”.

Oladejo, in the statement, expressed APC’s renewed commitment to good governance that would be impactful on all and sundry.

APC stated ” Perhaps, we should also commend our opponents whose sheer falsehood and desperation served as additional impetus to work diligently for the victory.

“Our government is mindful of the need to redouble our efforts to address the various areas of challenge as an appreciation of the renewed confidence.

“While we acknowledge the right of the opposition to lament and sulk, it should be noted that consistent reality check is a recipe for political progress.”

According to the party, Sanwo-Olu has embarked on and executed several developmental projects that have provided employment opportunities for the people and would most certainly change their socio-economic landscape when completed.

APC said that Sanwo-Olu’s THEMES agenda encapsulated the essence of the desires and expectations of Lagosians, and that the governor had shown commitment to complete all inherited projects.

The party listed Sanwo-Olu’s achievements to include the commissioning of 37 newly constructed roads and 500 others rehabilitated by the Public Works Bureau and the procurement of eight boats for water transportation.

” Mr governor also carried out recruitment, training and deployment of 1000 officers toward the improvement of public transportation and had shown commitment to construction of the 4th Mainland bridge, among others.

” The various interventions by the state government in the health sector by providing various diverse free treatment for thousands of beneficiaries and free surgeries in pediatric, eyes, orthopedic , nose and dental ailments were most impactful.

” The construction of the mother and child hospitals at Igando and Eto-osa also boosted the health sector. Undoubtedly, our enviroment has improved as a result of the re-organization of the Lagos State Waste Management Agency and the operations of the Private Sector Participation in waste management. The Olusosun landfill site was expanded to 42 acre for ease of waste disposal”, said APC.

Recall that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on December 6th declared Mr Tokunbo Abiru and Mr Obafemi Saheed winners of the bye-elections conducted in Lagos East Senatorial District and Kosofe state constituency 2 respectively.

Abiru polled 89, 204 votes to defeat Mr Babatunde Gbadamosi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 11,257.

Saheed scored 12,494 votes to beat Mr Sikiru Alebiosu of the PDP, who polled 2,068 votes.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here