Home News Lagos Inaugurates 8th Assembly, Picks Obasa as Speaker

Lagos Inaugurates 8th Assembly, Picks Obasa as Speaker

Hon. Mudashiru Obasa
Hon. Mudashiru Obasa || New Speaker, Lagos House of Assembly

As exclusively reported by WESTERN POST last week, the lawmaker representing Agege Constituency 1, Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, has emerged the Speaker of the 8th Lagos State House of Assembly.

Obasa, who is a fourth term legislator, was elected on Monday unopposed.

He was nominated by Hon. Olanrewaju Oshun of Mainland Constituency 2 and the motion was seconded by Hon. Sola Giwa of Lagos Island Constituency 2.

The new Speaker, inside sources, say he is a loyal supporter of the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

Obasa takes over from Rt. Hon. Adeyemi Ikuforiji, who served as Speaker of the House for 12 years.

Hon. Obasa served as Chairman, House Committee on Economic Planning and Budget in the 7th Assembly.

Last week, during a party meeting, the Lagos State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress had picked Mudashiru Obasa as the party’s consensus candidate for the 8th Assembly Speakership position.

WESTERN POST had gotten a wind of the plan to pick Obasa as consensus candidate at that meeting and had reported it ahead of the meeting.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here