Home Politics Lagos LG Elections: 332 Persons Jostle For 57 Chairmanship Tickets In APC

Lagos LG Elections: 332 Persons Jostle For 57 Chairmanship Tickets In APC


Three hundred and thirty two aspirants will be jostling for the 57 chairmanship, while 1,053 aspirants are vying for the less than 600 councillorship tickets of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State in the party’s primaries to be held on May 29th this year.

This was made known by the State Secretary of the party, Mr. Lanre Ogunyemi, who is also the Secretary of the Local Government Elections Committee, on Wednesday.

Ogunyemi said 332 chairmanship and 1,053 councillorship aspirants were to be screened across the 20 local government areas and 37 local council development areas of the state.

“With the end of sales and submission of forms by aspirants of the APC Lagos state, the party is set to commence its screening exercise on May 15.

“The exercise will hold at the state secretariat of the party for chairmanship aspirants and local government party offices for councillorship aspirants.

“Three hundred and thirty two chairmanship aspirants are expected to be screened, while 1,053 councillorship aspirants will undergo the screening exercise across the state,” said Ogunyemi.

According to him, the screening will end on May 21, while appeals on the screening will start from May 22 to end on May 26.

“The primary elections will hold on May 29 and appeals on the primaries will be heard from May 31 to June 1,” he added.

Ogunyemi pointed out that the ruling party intended to adhere strictly to its set-out timelines in conformity with the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) timetable.

it would be recalled that the party had set up screening and appeals committee to screen and attend to appeals from aggrieved aspirants.
The screening committee is chaired by Prof. Abayomi Durosinmi Etti. Other members of the committee are Mr. Babatunde Ogala-vice chairman, Hon. Adetoun Adediran-secretary, Prof. Adeniyi Harrisson and Honorable Oyinlomo Danmole.

The appeal committee is headed by former deputy governor of the state, Otunba Femi Pedro. Other members of the committee are Barr. Folasade Bakare as secretary, Hon. Sejoro James, Hon Rasaq Balogun and Barr. Dele Oloke.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here