*Alhaji Femi Okunnu*Supo Sasore (SAN) *Professor Tunde Samuel

*Mr Waheed Ajani *Mrs Olufunmilayo Oshinowo-Balogun *Prince Rabiu Oluwa

Lagos State’s delegates to this year’s National Conference said on Monday that a review of the exclusive legislative list, re-introduction of independent candidature in the constitution as well as a new approach to revenue sharing will top their agenda at the forthcoming national conference.

The leader of the team, former Federal Commissioner for Works, Alhaji Femi Okunnu said Lagos State’s position at the conference would be to canvass a review of a new revenue allocation, which is to Lagos as well as push for independent candidature in any of the elections.

Okunnu spoke when he led his team on a visit to Governor Babatunde Fashola at the State House, Ikeja, Lagos.

He said:“I believe that if anyone chooses not to belong to any political party, he or she can contest for election and can be voted for. We had it in Nigeria before. It was all modern system that wiped it out. We aren’t starting from afresh. This country has its foundations. The exclusive legislative list has been growing yearly. And there is need to revisit some of the key things that were placed under it. For instance, housing is a residual structure but agitation from Nigerians made it a federal structure.

“Land is also a residual structure. They are not in the exclusive list but I know the military acquired the power and took away the residual powers of the state. But they have been restored. But application of the constitution hasn’t made it work effectively.”

Other members of the committee are the immediate past Attorney-General of the State- Mr Supo Sasore (SAN), former aide to the Governor on Education- Professor Tunde Samuel, Mr Waheed Ajani, Mrs Olufunmilayo Oshinowo-Balogun and a white cap Chief, Prince Rabiu Oluwa.

Fashola said the track records of the delegates in terms of knowledge and experience also determined their being chosen to represent the state, saying “we decided to fortify the team with a younger generation- Mr. Samuel, Mrs. Oshinowo and Mr. Sasore to lead our charge representing the East, West and Central Senatorial Districts of Lagos.”

“Also, our other representatives are from the ethnic nationalities especially the indigenous land owners and a descendant of the traditional institution in the state,” he said.


Like and Share this: