Home Politics Last PDP Lawmaker In Ogun Assembly Defects To APC

Last PDP Lawmaker In Ogun Assembly Defects To APC

Hon. Slyvester Abiodun representing Ijebu North 1 state constituency in Ogun state house of Assembly.

By  Kolawole Olayinka, Abeokuta

The only member of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)  in Ogun state house of Assembly, Hon. Sylvester Abiodun has defected to the All Progressive Congress (APC) in Ijebu Igbo Local Government.

The ruling party is now in charge of the state house of Assembly as all 26 lawmakers are members of APC.

Hon. Abiodun, a representative from Ijebu Igbo Local Government,  was reported to have made the declaration at the Oba Motor Park, Ijebu Igbo where scores of the APC leaders and supporters received him into the party.

Among those who received him were the Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Tokunbo Talabi, Special Adviser to the governor on politics, Tunji Egbetokun, the lawmaker representing Yewa North (I)  Adegoke Adeyanju, and Adeniran Ademola.

The defecting lawmaker explained that his constituent “were duly consulted about his defection.”

He promised that he would “work for the progress of the party ahead 2023 general elections.”

While a minute silence was observed for his political leader, late Buruji Kashamu,  Abiodun said “Kashamu will be glad wherever he is” that he joined the ruling APC, as he was the first governorship candidate to visit Prince Dapo Abiodun to congratulate him for his success at the election.

He called on party faithful to join hands with the ruling party to build Nigeria. Recall that in January this year, seven members of the Allied People’s Movement in the house defected to APC.

The defectors are the Minority Leader, Ganiyu Oyedeji (Ifo 11); Musefiu Lamidi (Ado-Odo/Ota 11); Yusuf Amosun (Ewekoro); Sikiratu Ajibola (Ipokia); Bolanle Ajayi (Yewa South); Adeniran Ademola (Sagamu 11) and Modupe Mujota-Onikepo (Abeokuta North).

The lawmakers said in their letters to the house that they decided to join the APC after due consultations with their leaders and supporters.

The State Publicity Secretary of the Ogun State APC caretaker Committee, Mr. Tunde Oladunjoye confirmed the defection of Abiodun, stating that “the APC has become the choice of everyone in the state.”

He called on others who were yet to join the APC train in the state to do, as the revalidation and registration of members had been extended for another three weeks.






Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here