Home News Lawan’s APC faction to challenge Saraki’s victory in court

Lawan’s APC faction to challenge Saraki’s victory in court


SarakiAhmad Lawan-led faction of elected Senators that did not participate in the senate presidency election that produced Senator Bukola Saraki and Senator Ike Ekweremadu as President and Deputy President respectively has threatened to take a legal action against the election.

The members under the Senate Unity Forum, according to them, said the election did not follow due constitutional procedure.

The leader of the group, Senator Barnabas Gemade addressed journalists at the National Assembly Complex, after he led members of the group to stage a walkout in the chambers.

Gemade said 51 senators were not allowed to take part in the election of the Senate president because they were waiting for President Muhammadu Buhari, who had scheduled a meeting with them at the International Conference Centre.

He questioned the illegality of election process, stating that the Senators present at the election did not form a quorum. He accusing the clerk of the house for conducting an illegal election knowing fully well that quorum of the house has not been met.

“since it takes two-third of members to impeach the Senate president, two third of the members should also have been in attendance before he was elected on Tuesday.”

He said, “Our right to participate in the election of the Senate president is a constitutional right which cannot be taken away by any person or group of persons.

“The Clerk of the National Assembly knowing full well that the quorum for election of the Senate president has not been met, went ahead to conduct an election that shuts the door on about 51 other senators which would remain unacceptable until what would meet democratic parameters was done.”

Recall that Senator Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara had defied their party’s order to have Senator Ahmed Lawan and Hon Femi Gbajabiamila as the candidates of the party for the Senate President and Speaker of the House of Representatives positions respectively, these positions were however was contested and won by both Saraki and Lawan in the absence of 51 APC senator-elects.




Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here