Home News Lawmaker Storms Out of Plenary as Oyo Inaugurates 8th Assembly

Lawmaker Storms Out of Plenary as Oyo Inaugurates 8th Assembly


By Adeola Oladele, Ibadan

The rancour between the two major contenders, Hon Segun Olaleye, representing Ibadan North Constituency 1 and Hon Micheal Adeyemo, representing Ibarapa East jostling for the speakership position in the Oyo State House of Assembly got to a climax on Wednesday, during the inauguration of the 8th Assembly in the state.

Hon. Adeyemo, however, emerged as Speaker.

Olaleye stormed out of the plenary, when members of the House were mandated to nominate the candidates for key positions in the House.

The nomination nearly resulted to an open fight when it was the turn of the election of the Minority Leader of the House.

The House, which had already elected Hon. Adeyemo (APC) as the Speaker was thrown into confusion when Hon. Muideen Olagunju Alatede (Accord, Oyo East/ Oyo West) moved against a motion to elect Hon. Joshua Olagunju Ojo (Labour Party from Orire Constituency).

Alatede, in his submission noted that under normal circumstances, his party, Accord, which has 8 members as against Labour Party with 6 members was supposed to produce the minority leader, adding that the ruling APC had 18 members in the 32-member House.

The newly-inaugurated lawmaker was supported by his party men, including Hon. Ademola Ige (Accord, Ibadan South East 1), Hon. Adeniyi Adeoye (Accord, Ibadan North-East 2) and Hon. Olusegun Olaleye (APC, Ibadan North 2).

Olaleye, out of anger toed the line of Alatede, by citing one of the House rules to back up what the lawmaker said earlier, warning the speaker not to start his regime with crisis.

However, another Accord member also urged the speaker and his colleagues to search their conscience, saying they should know the truth that Accord member produce the Minority Leader.

The Speaker ignored Olaleye, Alatede and their supporters. Adeyemo’s rejection of Olaleye’s objection in supporting Alatede’s argument nearly resulted into fight among the lawmakers.

The Speaker also stood Olaleye down after he ignored his argument, saying no member, according to the rule, is expected to speak on a particular matter twice.

Hon. Olaleye later stormed out of the inauguration after observing that his objections were no longer recognized by the Speaker and other APC lawmakers.

The resolve of the Speaker that the House should result into voting saved the Assembly from witnessing another imbroglio during its first sitting.

At the end of voting, Hon. Joshua Olagunju Ojo got 21 votes as against his rival Hon. Alatede who got 9 votes, which made the latter to emerge (Labour party, Orire) as the Minority Leader.

Hon. Adeyemo (Ibarapa East), who is in his second term in the House, emerged as Speaker of the newly-inaugurated 8th Assembly unopposed.

He was nominated by Hon. Kehinde Subair (APC, Ibadan South-West 2). Other principal officers elected in the same vein included Hon. Musa Abdulwasiu (Saki West) as the Deputy Speaker.

Also elected were Hon. Kehinde Subair (APC, Ibadan South-West 1) as Majority Leader, Hon. Olusegun Ajanaku (APC, Ibadan South-West 2) as Chairman Parliamentary Caucus.

Others were Prince Wasiu Olafisoye Akinmoyede (APC Lagelu) as the Chief Whip. The state Governor Abiola Ajimobi, in his address, congratulated the Speaker and other members over their victories, as he said he would work with the newly-inaugurated Assembly to move the state forward.

However, Hon. Adeyemo, in his acceptance speech, noted that the Assembly being inaugurated would not be a rubber stamp, rather it would be mindful of its constitutional responsibilities, adding that they would be up and doing in their oversight functions.

“I am assuring your excellences that this eight  assembly shall cooperate with the executives in the task of giving the state a well coordinated direction in governance and politics.”

The inauguration was attended by the Deputy Governor, Hon. Moses Alake Adeyemo, Mrs. Florence Ajimobi, the Chief Judge of the state, Justice Munta Abimbola, and the state’s Head of Service, Mr. Soji Eniade.

Some traditional rulers in the state were also in attendance at the inauguration.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here