Home News Lawmakers who Suffered Defeat…Newcomers who Dislodged Incumbents

Lawmakers who Suffered Defeat…Newcomers who Dislodged Incumbents



The 5 Lagos Lawmakers Who Lost out


ive members of the Lagos State House of Assembly failed in their aspiration to return to the Assembly as they were defeated in the primary put together by the party to pick state Assembly candidates.

Kabir Lawal, representing Surulere State Constituency I, Ramota Akinola Hassan; Amuwo Odofin II; Bashiru Oloto, Lagos Mainland, Ahmed Ipoola Omisore; Ifako Ijaye State Constituency II and Omowunmi Olatunji Edet, Oshodi-Isolo II, all lost to aspirants that are newcomers.

Kabiru Lawal was said to have stepped down for Nollywood Actor, Desmond Elliot emerged in Surulere State Constituency 1.

Hon. Ramota Hassan lost to Wale Raufu, a newcomer while the immediate past chairman of Lagos Mainland Local Government Area, Oladele Adekanye floored incumbent Bashiru Oloto. Ipoola Omisore suffered a humiliating defeat in the hands of Rasheed Makinde also a newcomer just Ladi Ajomale, son of APC Lagos Chairman, Chief Henry Ajomale trounced Omowumi Edet to emerge as candidate for Oshodi-Isolo State Constituency II.

However, incumbents that were returned include Lagos Mainland Constituency I lawmaker, Moshood Lanre Oshun, the lawmaker representing Ajeromi-Ifelodun Constituency I, Kolawole Musbau Taiwo, who is the Deputy Speaker; his counterpart in Constituency II, Ladi Balogun; Mudasiru Obasa, Agege Constituency I;  Agege State Constituency II legislator, Yinka Ogundimu and Bisi Yusuf of Alimoso State Constituency I. Others are Sikiru Osinowo, Kosofe State Constituency I; Princess Adefunmilayo Tejuoso, Mushin State Constituency I; Dayo Saka Fafunmi, Ifako-Ijaye State Constituency I; Lanre Ogunyemi, Ojo Constituency II and Muhibat Adeyemi, representing Ojo State Constituency I.


Easy Ride for 13 pro-Amosun Lawmakers, Others Protest

In Ogun State, it was a smooth ride for the Speaker of the State House Assembly, Suraj Ishola Adekunmbi, his deputy, Tola Banjo and 11 others loyal to Governor Ibikunle Amosun as they were all returned in their various constituencies.

However, hundreds of supporters of other aspirants for the Ogun State House of assembly tickets were stunned when news filtered in that Governor Ibikunle Amosun had allegedly ordered all other aspirants to step down for his anointed candidates.

There was a mild drama at Abeokuta North, where supporters of Olawale Olubodun vowed to resist the imposition of the current lawmaker representing the constituency, Hon. Olayiwola  Ojodu.

Though some of the supporters were defiant and reportedly went ahead to cast their votes for their candidate against the governor’s order, WESTERN POST learnt that when the result was announced, their candidates did not have one  single vote while all the votes were for the governor’s  candidates. The atmosphere later became charged as some supporters betrayed their emotion, weeping while others threatened to lynch the governor’s candidates.


Oyo: Majority Leader, Deputy, Five Others Returned


The APC State House of Assembly primary election returned the lawmaker representing Oluyole State Constituency, who is also the Majority Leader, Hon. Oyeniyi Oyeniran Akande as he defeated four other aspirants. Deputy Majority Leader from Ibadan South West State Constituency 1, Hon. Kehinde Hassan Subair was also returned, including Ibadan North-West State Constituency incumbent legislator, Hon. Hakeem Oladipupo. Other incumbents who would be re-contesting for a second term are Hon. Waliu Adekunle Ganiyu, Atiba State Constituency, lawmaker from Ibadan North State Constituency II, Hon. Segun Olaleye; Hon. Segun Ajanaku, Ibadan South West II and Hon. Yisau Azeez Adesope from Oorelope State Constituency.

However, the major upset was the defeat of incumbent lawmaker representing Ibadan South East II State Constituency II, Hon. Sikiru Alli, who lost to newcomer, Okiki Adebolu.

Immediate past Caretaker Committee Chairman, Lagelu Local Government Area, Prince Olafisoye Akinmoyede won the ticket for Lagelu State Constituency while the only female aspirant to emerge was Mrs. Bolanle Agbaje, who would be contesting for Ibadan North I State Constituency.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here