Home News Makinde Inaugurates Oyo’s 5-Man Committee on LAUTECH Ownership

Makinde Inaugurates Oyo’s 5-Man Committee on LAUTECH Ownership


By Bode Akinbode, Ibadan

Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde, on Wednesday inaugurated a 5-member Committee to work with a similar Committee from Osun State to deliberate on the ownership of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH).

He maintained that though Osun and Oyo states would continue to remain brothers in other areas, the Committee’s mandate is to resolve the perennial challenges facing the University due to ownership crisis,

Makinde said that the Oyo State Government was ready to shoulder the responsibility of sole ownership of the institution in order to ensure its smooth running in the interest of the over 30,000 students population, 1,200 workforce and the economy of Ogbomoso in particular and Oyo State in general.

The Committee, which was inaugurated by the Governor at the Executive Chamber of the Governor’s Office, Secretariat, Agodi, Ibadan, had as its chairman Professor Deji Omole of the University of Ibadan.

Other members include a former Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Oloye Jumoke Akinjide; Chief Bolaji Ayorinde (SAN); Oyo State’s Commissioner for Education, Professor Dahud Shangodoyin and his counterpart in the Ministry of Justice, Professor Oyelowo Oyewo.

Responding on behalf of the Committee, its chairman, Prof. Omole, appreciated the Governor for the opportunity offered them, promising that the Committee would take the assignment given to it with integrity and courage. He added that the committee’s submissions will be based on facts and figure.



Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here