Home News Najeem Returns as Speaker, as Aregbesola Inaugurates Sixth Osun Assembly

Najeem Returns as Speaker, as Aregbesola Inaugurates Sixth Osun Assembly


Tunde Oyekola, Osogbo

Honourable Najeem Salaam, the member representing Ejigbo State Constituency in Osun State House of Assembly was yesterday returned unopposed as the Speaker of the sixth assembly in the state.

The 5th Assembly of the Osun State House of Assembly, which was inaugurated on June 2, 2011, was earlier dissolved, having completed four years term as stipulated by the constitution.

The Clerk of the House, Mr. Mudashir Oyeniran had earlier conducted swearing-in of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker after making the roll-call of honourable members-elect.

In his inaugural speech after conducting the swearing-in of other members of the Assembly, the Speaker, Mr. Najeem Salaam, promised to continue to toe the part of peace without compromising the core value of the House.

Mr. Salaam said the 5th Assembly had not only seen, but conquered, and scored the assembly high in terms of performance.

Some of the members of the 6th Assembly, including Mr. Folurunso Bamisayemi, Mr. Babatunde Komolafe and Mr. Lekan Olatunji in their separate remarks, stated readiness of members to raise the ante and initiate bills that  privilege and honour to be elected to serve in the assembly.

In their separate remarks, the former Speakers of the House, Mr. Wale Afolabi and Mr. Adejare Bello called for collaboration of the assembly with other arms of government in the state for speedy development of the state.

The governor, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola, while inaugurating the assembly, said the event were being inaugurated at a time the state is facing financial challenge, calling for their commitment to the state to overcome the challenge.

The House later elected Mr. Adegboye Akintunde as deputy speaker, Mr. Timothy Owoeye as Majority Leader, and member representing Ife Central Mr. Oladejo Makinde as the Minority Leader.

Mr. Folorunso Bamisayemi from Ife South was elected the Chief Whip as the former chief whip did not win the ticket of his party to contest.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here