Home News National Chair: Oyegun Loses Out as Buhari Declares Support for Oshiomhole

National Chair: Oyegun Loses Out as Buhari Declares Support for Oshiomhole


The end of the road may have come for All Progressives Congress National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, in his bid to return as chairman in the May 14 convention as President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday evening met with state governors elected on the platform of the party and declared support instead for former Edo State Governor Adams Oshiomhole.
17 APC governors met with the president at the Aso Rock Presidential Villa. They were led to the meeting by the Chairman of the Progressives Governors’ Forum, Chief Rochas Okorocha of Imo State. The meeting was held behind closed doors inside the Presidential Villa, Abuja.
According to a presidency source who spoke on the condition of anonymity, the governors had gone to ask President Buhari where he stood in the forthcoming elective convention.
He said the sole item on the agenda of the meeting was how the state governors will work towards the emergence of Oshiomhole as the party’s next National Chairman.
The party’s national convention where new members of the party’s National Working Committee will emerge has been slated for May 14 in Abuja.
Following the development, it is not clear yet if the party’s current chairman, Odigie-Oyegun, will be seeking re-election at the convention but though the President has resolved to support Oshiomhole’s candidature, he is not stopping Oyegun from re-contesting if he so wishes.
The source said: “The President called this meeting with the progressive governors to ask them to back Oshiomhole’s candidature. That’s the purpose of the meeting administration that is the President’s position”.
Some of the governors who were not at the meeting were Aminu Waziri Tambuwal (Sokoto), Abdulazeez Yari (Zamfara), Rauf Aregbesola (Osun) and Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos) who is presently out of the country.
It was a major victory for those like APC National Leader Asiwaju Bola Tinubu and others who had stridently opposed the tenure elongation packaged for Oyegun and his cohorts.
The APC had decided to retain the current zoning formula for its national offices. 


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here