Home News New LCDAs: ‘1.2 Million Participated in Osun Referendum’

New LCDAs: ‘1.2 Million Participated in Osun Referendum’


By Tunde Oyekola in Osogbo

About 1.2million out of 1.3million registered voters in Osun State participated in the last referendum conducted for the creation of new Local Government Development council (LCDA) in the state, Chairman of the Osun State Independent Electoral Commission (OSSIEC), Mr. Segun Oladitan has said.

Submitting the report on the referendum on the creation of additional local council development areas to the state House of Assembly in Osogbo yesterday, Otunba Oladitan noted that there was a huge turnout of participants during the exercise.

He said out of about 1.3 million registered voters in the state, 1.2 of them participated.

The Governor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, had presented a bill before the House, seeking approval for the creation of additional councils, after which the Assembly directed the OSSIEC to conduct a referendum on the proposed councils.

Presenting the report at the plenary on Tuesday, the OSSIEC Chairman, Oladitan said the referendum was conducted in all the 3,010 polling units in all the 30 local government areas of the state.

According to him, out of the 30 local government areas in the state, only one local government voted in rejection of the new council in its area.

He attributed the reason for the massive turnout at the referendum to the non-partisan approach adopted by the commission, saying the exercise was conducted without connecting it to political parties.

In his submission, the Speaker, Hon. Najeem Salaam, attributed the decision of the state government to create new council to its commitment for further development at the grassroots.

He said the referendum had shown the seriousness of both the executive and the legislative arms of government to create addition councils.

Noting that there were other considerations required in the process of creating new councils, he said the Assembly would speed up action on the other processes required to bring development to the grassroots.

In their various submissions, Hons. Ipoola Binuyo (Ife North), Afolabi Atolagbe (Ifedayo), Wasiu Adebayo (Olorunda) and Ajibola Akinloye (Ola-Oluwa) among others lauded the commission for the peaceful conduct of the exercise.

With the successful conduct of the exercise, they said the House now have confidence that the commission would be able to conduct a free and fair poll at the appropriate time.

Meanwhile, the House later dissolved into the Committee of the Whole for the consideration of the Livestock Roaming Bill 2015.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here