Home News New Oyo NLC Boss Promises Workers’ Welfare

New Oyo NLC Boss Promises Workers’ Welfare


By Adeola Oladele, Ibadan

The newly-elected Chairman of the Nigeria Labour Congress, Oyo State Chapter, Comrade Waheed Olojede, has promised to make workers’ welfare in the state his topmost priority.

Olojede told journalists at the weekend in Ibadan after he was elected and sworn in  as the new helmsman of the state’s NLC by  members of the union.

“I am ready to take care of industrial and interest of workers in Oyo State. We shall pursue workers’ welfare since the only hope of workers is NLC,” he said.

Olojede, who contested for the election on the NUT platform, defeated Ayobami Ajayi polling 745 votes, while his opponent had 573 votes.

The state’s NLC boss who assured the workers that he would ensure the best for them, said his executive would make the government to realise that out of the factors of production, labour is the number one.

Others elected into the executives of the union are Titilola Sodo and Eniola Olawale for the Vice Chairmanship positions, while Olatunbosun Olatunji emerged as Treasurer.

Also, the duo of Olawuwo Olaniyi and Ajayi Emmanuel were returned unopposed as the Ex-Officials.

However, the outgone NLC Chairman, Com. Bashir Olanrewaju, who said he made workers’ interest his priority during his tenure, expressed happiness at the way the election went peacefully.

“I want to commend the contestants, members of the union and the security agents for their peaceful conduct of the elections,” he said.

Meanwhile, both Olanrewaju and Olojede condemned the attempt by some unionists like NUPENG. NRC and NUBIFE, to organise a parallel congress at Alesinloye, saying “Oyo NLC is one and indivisible.”

Soji Eniade, the Head of Service of the state, who delivered a paper at the opening segment of the congress, called on the state NLC to co-operate with Governor Abiola Ajimobi’s administration in bringing more development to the state.

Twenty-four unions out of 27 affiliates of NLC in the state took part in the election, while the remaining three had their congress at the National Museum, Ibadan.


Like and Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here